Prodigal Concept Art Project - First Finished Concept + Process Gif

in #art6 years ago

SC_001_Ext_002_FinShareRes.jpg
Right click and open in new tab to see full resolution.

So the development comes together here with a finished concept. If you guys have been following along up until now you've seen where this concept started. If you haven't seen any of that you can start here, but here are the important images

buildingThumbs.jpg

buildingEnvThumbs_001.jpg

I combined a few of the ideas I explored earlier for this concept. One where this main building is in a dense city, but also I liked the green atmosphere idea. This is an alien planet, so I thought that made that a decently easy read.

The process for this started in 3D. I started by creating the city with a technique that I talked about in this stream where I demo'ed how to create greeble.

I also used a bit of kitbashing to get some of the secondary hero buildings, which is the process of using pre-made models and jamming them together to get different objects.

The final result out of the 3D software was this

beauty.jpg

This is called a beauty pass. In 3D the different lighting and material elements can all be separated into layers. For visual effects, typically this is what is done. You then take those layers and put them together in a compositor, like After Effects, or in my case since I'm making a still image Photoshop works fine as well. A beauty pass is all the elements together.

Then there are the individual passes. You can render out many more types of passes, but for this I only needed, the Diffuse(color), Reflection, and Emission(lights). You can see them all below.

Diffuse
Diffuse.jpg

Reflection
Reflection.jpg

Emission
emit.jpg

Then there's the information passes. So in visual effects, you can use these information passes for a ton of various tasks, but for what I'm doing I'm using them for selections. With all this detail that the 3D produces, I can use these passes in a variety of ways to select different areas of the image.

Z-Depth
zDepth.jpg

Normals
normals.jpg

Object ID
ObjID.jpg

Material ID
matID.jpg

So I then take all that information out of the 3D software and bring it into Photoshop to start painting. You can see some of the process below.

SC_001_Ext_002.gif

As always, hope you all are enjoying the process and thanks for stopping by. Let me know what you think in the comments!

Sort:  

So amazing artwork @midlet !! ❤


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Technical POWA!

That final animation pulls it all together for us non-technical folk and looks DOPE!! LOL

Thanks @beatking13 :)

Hi @midlet!

Your post was upvoted by utopian.io in cooperation with ocd - supporting knowledge, innovation and technological advancement on the Steem Blockchain.

Contribute to Open Source with utopian.io

Learn how to contribute on our website and join the new open source economy.

Want to chat? Join the Utopian Community on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV

Thanks @utopian-io and @ocd! :D

As usual @midlet, you make me proud. It looks like magic, but I love it.

Thanks @jluvs2fly! <3

Congratulations @midlet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello, @midlet! I like the result. You put a lot of work into this. This is a good concept of the city on the alien planet. Very gloomy and frightening. It seems that something terrible is about to happen.

p.s. After our recent conversation, I created a drawing. It does not exactly reflect what I was talking about but just a funny picture.

feelisgood-steemit-alien.PNG

Haha, very cute alien @feelisgood! And thanks! Glad you like the result :)

What an amazing artwork! I'm very impressed by your artistic talent, I think now you have one more follower to add to your almost 550. :)!

Thanks @mervin-gil! Glad to have you :)

amazing stuff, @midlet :D i curated it immediately for c-squared :D :D :D

great in-depth progress shots, also ! 3D arts are always magical to me * __ *

Thanks spidey! :) You're the best!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61587.45
ETH 2890.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43