Thoughts on the future.

in #art5 years ago (edited)

etkik26mp7.jpg

I like to stay up on technology as much as I can. It's just something that's always interested and fascinated me. It definitely played a part in me wanting to be an illustrator. I think one of the reasons Steem really excites me is because I feel like I'm a part of some bleeding edge technology. It's got it's hiccups along the way, but that's to be expected with anything new.

When I combine a lot of the bleeding edge tech that's just really getting started now, there will be a lot of amazing things in the near future. I'll try my best to paint you a picture of what I'm talking about.

One company I've been following for a while now is OTOY. They create my favorite rendering engine Octane Render. They also have created their own token on the Ethereum blockchain called RNDR. The purpose of this token is similar to Golem if you're familiar with that, but it's only for GPU rendering. If you're not familiar with Golem, basically RNDR is a token that you'll get rewarded for renting out the processing power of your GPU's. This will ultimately make it possible to have a huge decentralized GPU render farm.

Fast forwarding that tech about a decade in the future and I could see GPU rendering being something that you buy as a service instead of trying to buy all the hardware for your personal PC. The games and virtual experiences of tomorrow will be too complex and too computationally expensive for you to run them on your local machine, so you'll just need to plug into a network and you can buy the ULTRA HD plan for your GPU rendering for $80 a month.

With the next generation of internet speed and 5G, you'll just be able to stream the graphics that are being processed remotely with imperceptible lag. This will make virtual vacations and VR extremely valuable as real time path tracing(photoreal 3D rendering) becomes commonplace.

So when we're in these virtual worlds will we be spending fiat? Hell no, we'll be spending crypto! Not only will all these worlds have their own tokens, but a lot of people will have their own tokens. Everyone who is trying to sell something to anyone will have their own token. It allows you to cut out all middle men, and connect directly with your customers, supporters, patrons, whatever.

I can see a decentralized virtual world that has it's own currency that no human is in charge of or has power over. An autonomous entity will be able to earn and distribute funds based on rules and structures programmed into it.

The days are numbered for large centralized institutions. The tech is here and there only need to be a few successful applications and that will trigger the explosion of innovation. It's already happening. Slowly but surely it will continue to infect every facet of our lives. Things are going to become easier, more intuitive, more useful, more valuable.

In previous posts I've talked about the scary side of technological advancement and innovation, but this isn't one of those posts. Today I'm excited about the future, and I just hope we'll be relevant in the new world to come.

What are your thoughts on where the future of technology is going?

Sort:  

Where are all these remote things being hosted? XD

I like the really decentralised/distributed idea where everything connected to the internet is helping run it. Kind of like a more advanced ipfs. Though I don't actually have a clue how that would work XD

On the computers of regular people. For the RNDR, you earn RNDR by renting out GPU clock cycles. Of course, similar to Bitcoin, I imagine some big players would eventually emerge and do the bulk of the heavy lifting/make the bulk of the money :)

That was more for

With the next generation of internet speed and 5G, you'll just be able to stream the graphics that are being processed remotely with imperceptible lag

I know how RNDR works (more or less) though I do BURP because I primarily use Blender and it does both cpu and gpu (so I can both use and contribute, I only contribute cpu as my gpu is apparently non-existant to some things XD), also know how ipfs works, so basically if that streaming for vws etc works in the same way it sounds like how the internet in my head-universe works in which case I get it :)

Isn’t Golem for Blender? I never heard of BURP(dope name though lol) Some other projects are also doing decentralized web hosting as well, I forget which ones.

No idea. I don’t even remember if I’ve heard about it. Annoyed that they only have a video, some of us are bad at video 🤣 I’ll investigate it more when I can use my computer again (currently doing some extensive ram/slot testing, so over completely random crashes).

Other reason I went with BURP was because I was already doing boinc projects (though I’ve quit all but BURP as the others didn’t seem to like my settings and did what they wanted anyway 🤣).

Posted using Partiko iOS

RNDR sounds like it can be huge!! I'd love to get in on that early! Keep us posted!! (^_^)

Posted using Partiko Android

They had an ICO that I missed out on, it was before I really understood crypto or owned any. Like RIGHT before >_<

Uuuuuuuggghhh!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @midlet!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.504 which ranks you at #2003 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #23.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @midlet! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97