My creative journey - gone for a minute, but still creating like a crazy person

in #art6 years ago

Sorry, been out of touch for the last week or so. I haven't stopped creating...well, for a couple days I wasn't drawing or painting but that's because I was up to my neck doing a complex photo shoot for some product clients. That, in itself, has turned into a minor nightmare, but, you gotta do what you gotta do to pull in the money. But, wow, not writing for almost a week, then now trying to get back into it...hard as hell. Especially on a beautiful day here in LA with so much else to do, hehe. But, a promise to myself is a promise.

It most definitely has been a week of sketching...again. In a way it's become my refuge for creativity. Also, a bit of a trap. It's easy to pull out the big pad, some charcoal, and just draw away with no worries about an judgement. To sit for hours just listening to music drawing...relaxing, getting that negative energy out...but, in a way it's too easy. It's become a safe comfort zone. And, I need to get out of that zone again. No rest for the wicked...and I plan to be quite wicked with my work, hehe.

So, to the art...or, precursors to art, I should say, hehe. Things are definitely shaping up nicely. Lines coming together, ideas, whatnot. My mind still has an Asian theme running through it, so, I spent a bit of time working on things related to dragons. I mean, I'm figuring out the face bits, but, the moment I go to draw a full form...that's when I realized I needed to figure out how to draw wings...and how wings attach to bodies...and a whole bunch of stuff. Like when I realized I needed to figure out how to draw horns properly. And, if you're wondering 'why bats?' It's because they seemed to have the most similar feel to me.

20180625_095609 combo.jpg

When I got home, though...things got a bit...well, strange. I went up on my roof to sketch. Still thinking on dragons and such. But, as I chilled up there, watching the sun set over LA, my mind wandered to a completely different tack. It was like...world events...war...where would they strike...LA...nuclear weapons....radiation...and that's where this series came from. Ideas flowed pretty quick and easy...and it was weird. Also cool. They were coming from inside my head and all I could do was to let them out on the sketchpad. I kept judgement at bay...because they're super simple, kinda weird, and I guess most people would never let themselves draw something like this...but, like I said, I kept judgement at bay and had some fun.

I think you might notice a progression, a semblance of a story, cool things. I'd love to hear what people think about these as they're my own work, not just riffing on things. Of course my unconscious mind pulled from a lot of things it's seen and experienced in the past...but, no artwork is truly original...and when they are...masterpieces :) Or, something, hehe.

20180625_095632 combo.jpg

20180625_095650 combo.jpg

Ugh. Every day I wonder WTF is creativity. What is art. What is good. What is bad. The daily debate inside my skull that I'm sure many, many people deal with.

So, this set was a different day. Well, I think the next two sets. I'm not 100% sure. So much stuff this week... But, for the first one I decided to see what it would look like if I diluted a bit of ink and used some of my larger brushes on the newsprint. First thing I discovered was that painting with a wet medium on newsprint...bad idea. It warps the paper. The ink flowed on smoothly, but, the paper got a bit distorted. Not badly enough to not do it again for practice but...not my idea of a really good idea, hehe.

There was a bunch of stuff I tried out. I retreated to familiar forms, stretched out to some new ones, and let thoughts from my own head come out. Not too excited about all of these...but my friends seemed to like some of them for different reasons. I mean, each has little pieces of a much greater puzzle that I'm building...so I'm not angry at myself, though, it's hard sometimes. I want to be so much more, but I know the time and effort it's gonna take and I'm nowhere near...yet.

20180701_143617 combo.jpg

This, like I said, might be from a different day, or a combination of a couple days. I went back to charcoal sketching and just ran with things. Astronauts, portraits, and would be kings, hehe. More working on lines, perspective, shading :) You know, the usual.

20180701_143647 combo.jpg

Somehow, somewhen, I managed to also do some ink work. Once again working on the astronaut theme. I've got some ideas brewing of how to put all these elements I've been messing with together...hopefully some of them will be coming out soon, and in a way that I can describe it as a 'body of work,' so that I can start trying to get things hung in different locations. That whole being known thing so people will buy my work...the stuff that's supposed to support me and all. I just gotta get over the case of 'yips' I've developed.

'Yips?' What the heck is that? We all know the feeling. It's the one you feel, might be feeling right now, about something you need to do, but not doing it yet has built up this wall, and fear, about if you'll actually be able to get it done...get it done right...stuff like that. Though...there might be different reasons I'm hesitating. I did do an entire wall art piece the other day on a whim so....(story for another day...soon)

20180701_143008 combo.jpg

I'm sure I missed something I'll discover later, hehe. There's all the sketches I did yesterday...I think like 12 or 13 or them. It was a bad day for me. My head was not my own...to put it simply. Depression was like a hammer to my skull pretty much from the moment I opened my eyes and so I used my drawing to get myself through the day. Today was a bit better, but I still feel the edges of darkness trying to creep in. Depression sucks, but at least I'm familiar with the beast that tries to ride my back. I know when to retreat and let him do his thing, and when to make my counter-attack. I might put those in a post later tonight, or tomorrow. I still have a couple other things I need to write about, hehe. Life, never stops coming at you, until it doesn't.

Thank you so much for dropping by and glimpsing a moment from my creative journey. It's been a crazy ride so far and I hope it never stops. As always I'd love to hear what you have to think, good or bad, it doesn't matter to me. You can't improve if you don't hear criticism. I hope everyone is having an amazing weekend! Be well :)

Wessel


Crap, been so long that I can't copy and paste all my usual stuff about all the cool groups I'm a part of and what I've got for sale... My laptops about to die and no charger. So, I'll get back to it in the next post :)

Sort:  

Hello @mikesthoughts, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Much love to y'all! Every little bit helps to keep the fires burning. Need to catch up on my blog though, hehe. Keep on falling behind. Been some rough times...

Congratulations! This post was chosen to be featured in this weeks SoCal Spotlight!!
Thank you so much for being part of the #socalsteemit community.
SCSreplybanner.jpg

Booyah! Thanks y'all :) Miss those meet-ups. Anything happening around LA soon?

Our next meetup is on the 21st in San Diego. Then were planning to have one sometime early August in San Bernardino. I'm sure we'll have one in L.A. again here soon.

Hmmm. Birthday is on the 23rd...not sure what I'll be doing for it. I definitely need a vacation.

Right on. Happy birthday!! Mine's on the 20th. I'm getting freaking old. lol. Here's the post with all the info about the next meetup. https://steemit.com/steemit/@mariannewest/let-s-meet-up-san-diego-saturday-july-21-1-pm

Hehe, my birthday is next Monday...so we're even closer together, hehe. Tell me about it. I'm like, do I have to change the number of my age? Can't we just pretend it didn't happen?

Hope you have a great day!

Thanks for sharing your drawings! Very nice! "Yips!" That's my new word for today ;)

Hehe, mission accomplished. Bringing obscure words back into common usage :) Thanks for dropping by! Hope you have a great weekend!

I'm liking your drawings....looking forward to seeing more.

Thanks! And, there are definitely more coming. Fell behind on my blogging and have like dozens of things to post, hehe.

I quite like those astronaut sketches. Trying to figure out what he's holding in the last one... Alien eyeballs!!

Lol, no idea what he's carrying. The drawing just kinda evolved as I was figuring out perspective. Looks kinda dope though :) Thanks for stopping by! Good to see you! Got those pieces of silver stashed in a nice, safe place :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62568.36
ETH 3010.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89