Disaster painting #3

in #art5 years ago

It was another sunday and about time to get to the studio and take some selfies and a little bit of painting too.

studioselfie3.jpg

It was snowing pretty heavily and it looked pretty disgusting, for a moment i thought of not going. Kinda like i am feeling with writing this post after having struggle uploading the pictures, my insides are clenching and i don't really want to do it - It doesn't seem worthwhile and so on. There is the practical side saying that i have to finish those paintings so they can dry out in time for the upcoming sales event. Which in turn is countered with doubts if i will sell anything anyway and just lose the transport fees. I don't like that side, i wish i didn't have to think about them. What ends up tipping the scale for me is the thought that this kind of snow does not happen everyday and i think it might be interesting to experience it, not just the snow ofcourse but how everything is outside. There are unique things to see and feel. That is something that i want to put in my paintings, embracing the chaos. I've found this an rewarding mindset, as in the experience. There was a great highlight after i left the studio. I was walking through an underpass and just as i was about to reach the otherside, i heard a rumble and saw snow falling infront of me in an unusual way. A snow plow had just driven past above me and i was almost caught under the miniature avalanche. I stood there in awe for a moment and a definite "wow" escaped my lips. That gave fuel to some interesting thoughts about luck and gratitude for the rest ot the journey home.

Anway it wasn't the only event that day.

IMG_20190203_120903.jpg

Back to the painting. It was time to do the last of the series. No Tarot cards to guide or anything premeditated this time, just needed to do something. It was hard to start. It couldn't be just any color, it had to tie to this series and thus to the ones in the exhibition last summer. I ended up taking the gold bronze pigment. I used it in the "Queen of Mirrors" along with the cadmium yellows before so there was special weight to it that i had to consider. I drizzled my last medium on it and
It ended up looking dangerously flaky. I remembered i had seen a a jar of leftover green that was used in "Saint Tadpole" and it seemed like an decent idea to mix them together a little bit, if a little awkward -but in the end meaningful.

IMG_20190203_120929.jpg

while i was mixing the paints around i realised my painting table was pretty far off the canvas. So i'm about to push it closer i manage to flip my coffee on the palette.

IMG_20190203_121023.jpg

So, when this kind of things happen my first instinct is to pick up my phone and take pictures
Instead of cleaning up like a normal person. If you remember, the red one started in a similar fashion. Anyway, I thought it looked gorgeous.

IMG_20190203_121418.jpg

I decide to mix it around more and just get on with the painting. Now, there might be some trouble with the paint staying on along the way, but we'll see.

IMG_20190203_121451.jpg

And this is where we end up. I was thinking of merging of things and that along with the colors and shapes led me to think about sea horses.

Seahorse.jpg

sea horses?

detail.jpg

Might be a good name for the piece or part of it anyway. There is a lot to think about, In a way the painting process doesn't stop with the actual painting. - and there is still chance i might do something with it. But that's it for now.

Sort:  

Embracing the chaos... I think is a great way to design.

Makes life more interesting anyway

Yeah! Why fight the flow. Great mindset.

Hello @mikkolyytinen, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60648.94
ETH 2906.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60