Handmade 3D Art - Fluorescent Hang Glider

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Glider-intro-pr-2.jpg

Who says that drawing with a 3D pen, is mostly for kids?

I created this 3D hand glider artwork, as a gift to a very good friend of mine - a passionate glider pilot. It took me around 10 hours of work that I enjoyed fully. The model is built in origami style, and the design is based on the actual hand glider that he flyes with. I always wanted to create something that's glowing in the dark, and this one was perfect to start with :)

Glider-white-anim-2.gif

Tools used

Glider-dark-anim-2.gif

Process

  1. I started playing with a piece of paper, and made an origami hand glider. I liked how it looked, so why not draw it in 3D too?

  2. I built the wireframe of the glider, in white.

  3. I filled the wireframe with the 3 fluorescent plastic colors. The red model that's going across the right wing represents 2 initials (name of the person I gave this to as a gift).

  4. Final version - Ta-daaaam!

  5. Wrap it up and make it a gift.

First model - testing

first_try.jpg

The second model - final

glider-6.jpg

glider-2.jpg

glider-7.jpg

Glowing in the Dark :)

fluorescent-glider-pr-1.gif

fluorescent-glider-pr-2.gif

fluorescent-glider-pr-1-2.jpg
fluorescent-glider-pr-3-1.jpg

Both models - final

both.jpg

To be continued

Thanks for watching, I hope it inspires you and keep in touch for more! If you want to see more pictures, you can check it out here.

Previous relevant posts:

Thank you

To #fineartnow for supporting artists and creating artistic communities.

Sort:  

It looks awesome :)

Coolio. I'd like to see you tackle a subject dear to my heart: miniatures/figurines and gaming dice ;)

Oh yes, that would be interesting :) Will let you know when I do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67020.32
ETH 3084.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70