Wall-E custom engagement ring box

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This is the first robot custom engagement ring box I made in 2012 for a client from the USA who found me by my previous works. It is based on my favorite character from Disney/Pixar movie – Wall-E. I always wanted to challenge myself and build this little robot from scratch, so I did.

I had to break it to small parts and draw each of them in CAD. On this project, I planned to use my laser cutter which can very precisely cut the outlines in a sheet of material. I used styrene on this one. It is commonly used material for scratch-building, it is soft and easy to cut with a knife and easy to sand. You can buy sheets in different thickness in well-stocked model shops. Gluing is also easy, if any of you built plastic models, you know the smelly glue :) It melts the material and welds it creating a very strong bond.

Before I started, I knew it will be complicated build with many parts. To give you an idea, each of this 2 little parts on the photo above was made of 59 separate pieces, assembled together and sanded. That does not count the tracks which were made of cardboard sections.
This was the moment when I regretted that I didn’t buy this toy and modify it. The only thing that kept me going, were new skills and extra self-confidence I will acquire for my next modelmaking project.

The ring is resting on this little pillow, hidden inside. The small copper slider is made at the bottom so it can be pushed to reveal the surprise.

The best part was the painting stage. I could finally see it assembled and painting the rust is my favorite now. The basic colors were made with spray paints to get nice and even yellow color or random dots on rusted areas where I used few shades of grays and browns. It was later refined with fine brushes and acrylics. It was great, but I had to be careful not to overdo it, so it doesn’t look too much like a trash. It will at the end hold the very expensive piece of jewelry.

This model was published on my blog here http://themodelmaker.net/wall-e-engagement-ring-box/ and quickly became the most popular engagement ring box in my collection. I got many features on wedding related websites and got repinned hundreds of times on Pinterest. That sent me more clients interested in this model, so I had to create something that takes less than a 100 hours to make. I now use existing toy as a base, I modify it, clean, fill, add the slider and repaint it from scratch. It maker more durable product with more points of articulation with even higher level of detail. It is still very limited edition but allowed me to make few more people happy.


I redid this model since then using existing toy as the base.

I also build many more ring boxes and models. The most recent Chip based on Belle and Beast theme:
https://themodelmaker.net/the-cup-of-love-chip-personalized-engagement-ring-box/
Toy Story themed Alien in claw machine:
https://themodelmaker.net/claw-machine-with-toy-story-alien-engagement-ring-box/
Spaceship Earth from Disney World:
https://themodelmaker.net/a-future-of-love-epcot-ring-box/
or Halloween movie themed house ring box:
https://themodelmaker.net/myers-house-miniature-model/


Now you can make me happy by clicking the upvote and resteem below. Can you say no to this cute eyes? :)

Wall-E wants you to click that upvote button :)

Sort:  

It's a cultural art

Awesome work, great result!

Upvoted and following ! :)

Thank you. There will be more. I also do 3d printing now, hope some of ot will keep you interested.

Love 3d printing i have a PrintRbot and a Micromake D1. what machine are you using ?

I started with my home nade and modified printrbot. I enlarged bed and lasercut the parts in acrylic. Didnt like that bed was moving up and down at the edges. I replaced it with 2 Ctc makerbot replicator clones. They work great.

Funny :) i also started with the PrinRbot, good to start with but wanted to print bigger and faster after using it for about 1 year i bought the Micromake D1 (kossel clone) happy with it..... but again i want to print bigger and now looking into the Creality cr-10.

I also looked into Creality, from what i see on youtube its very good value for money. I need to rearange my woriing space to fit it somewhere and i still dont use my existing production capacity :) i mostly spend time sanding prints. Its a pity to look on this machines which are not making anything in the meantime. How do you use yours?

The Printrbot is doing nothing :( its sad and i looked into upgrade kits and looked into using the parts (but i feel sorry to take it apart :p )

The Creality have a big community behind it and the price keep dropping, print results are very good from what i see on youtube,

i also have the same problem, where can i place this big machine ? and it needs extra space because of the moving bed.

I packed all motors and boards from old printer in the box and it is waiting for next diy project.
The Creality would need some kind of enclosure and vent it outside. I don't think sitting in the room with 3 working machines is good for my lungs. I have an idea for that, but waiting for my move to new place in few months. I will create special cabinet for all of them while watching gearbest for next price drop :)

This post received a 2.11% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @mitchhunter! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Congratulations @mitchhunter, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1660 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $944.79. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

This is amazing job. I would love to get this cuz I need to engage someone soon.

I can make you one, you can pay me in Steem

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Wicked! I think it's Wall-E for my Friday night movie ;)

Yes.do that. It will be so much fun. Love this movie

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Brought back memories

Yes. I need to watch it again.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mitchhunter to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77