Daily Doodle - Cacti paddles and glazing practice

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Greetings! 😃

Today's practice began as an experiment - I wasn't sure which side of my watercolor paper was the "correct" side. I cut a 6"x 9" piece of Aquabee watercolor paper in half, and taped opposite sides down on a clipboard with washi tape to see what difference - if any - it made.

MVIMG_20180508_222928.jpg

✳✳✳✳✳

MVIMG_20180508_150655.jpg
After the first few glazes, I figured out that the left piece was likely the one painted on the correct side of the paper. The pink/purple piece seemed more fussy as I was laying down paint.

MVIMG_20180508_213743.jpg
Deepened background and background layer of cacti paddles.

IMG_20180508_223002.jpg
Added white detail with Sakura GellyRoll pen

MVIMG_20180508_213808.jpg
After glazing, before white Gellyroll accents.

MVIMG_20180508_222928.jpg
Pretty happy with this result! 😍

I enjoyed painting these two together, though I'm happier with the blue/green cacti end result. As for the Aquabee paper, both sides can be painted, but one side might make you work much harder for a decent result. Whether or not you're up for the challenge is up to you. 😉


That's all for today - until next time!
😺


Materials:
Brush - Silver Brush Black Velvet #8
Paper - Aquabee watercolor paper
Paint - Da Vinci Artists' Watercolor Mixing Set
White ink- Sakura GellyRoll pen

Previous daily doodles:
Surreal Betta
Monstera Leaves
Mmm...donuts
Simple Peonies
Mexican Gold Poppies

Sort:  

Oh, I like cactus so much, beautiful art!
Jellyroll touch makes them just gorgeous, I like to use it too.

I'll follow you for more watercolor art!:) Also, I draw with watercolor too, will be glad if you'll check it out!

Also, which watercolor you use? Maybe you write this in posts before, but I missed that.

Thank you!

Sorry, I did leave that information out! I used Da Vinci Artists watercolors for this piece. I used hansa yellow light, red rose deep, ultramarine blue, and phthalo blue from their watercolor mixing set. (:

Thank you!
Now I extremely need phthalo blue in my pallet :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94