"Pinecrest 2ft" a painting

in #art5 years ago (edited)

wip18.jpg

I was invited to a festival called Soulplay.
https://www.soulplay.co/festival
The founder of this festival is named Romi.

This was a unique festival for me.
Although there was music performances including: my friend Trevor Green, this festival was more structured around classes and workshops.
http://trevorgreenmusic.com/

trevorgreen.jpg

In truth I did not attend many classes.
One class I did attend was the Puja.
My experience was a guided ritual where a couple can go through the exercises or you can move from partner to partner as stages progress.
In my experience with the Puja I had mutiple partners.
It is very difficult to me to describe the experience, I can only recommend one read up on the subject.
There was a guide who took us through the stages, instructing us what to do.
I would prefer to chose one partner through the whole experience if I was to enter a Puja again.
The experience was intense and ultimately i was left with longing.
Yet it was amazing.
In one class I had met nearly all the attendees of the festival in a deeply spritual way.
After my Puja I went back to draw another one.
The guide greeted me with laughter but allowed me to work.

thepuja.jpg

In the festival I made two dear friends.
Steve and Olive.
They served tea.

steveandolivetea.jpg

The weather was not very cooperative.
Although it was June it was very cold.

patrick.jpg

I had just one day of sun to paint.
The kiddie pool was heated and everyone used it as a spa.
On the one sunny day people would leave the kiddie pool and pose for me by the pool.
The poses were assembled together and form a story, however, each person posed separatedly.

moranbypoolpainting2.jpg

moranbypoolpainting3.jpg

There was a small gallery set up where I showed some work.
Behind me are the works created at Burning Man. "The Souk" 2014 6ft x 4ft oil on wood (private collection) then on the right "Carnival of Mirrors" 2015 oil on wood 6ft x 4ft (property of the artist).

gallery.jpg

At the end of the festival I really did have a blast in the estatic dance ballroom.
Here is a drawing of the estatic dance.

estatic dance.jpg

The painting from that weekend has been in production for quite some time.
Here are pictures of it's development.

pool0.jpg

wip9.jpg

wip11.jpg

wip13.jpg

wip14.jpg

wip16.jpg

wip17.jpg

wip18.jpg

wip19.jpg

wip20.jpg

wip21.jpg

wip22.jpg

wip23.jpg

wip24.jpg

wip25.jpg

wip26.jpg

wip27.jpg

wip28.jpg

wip29.jpg

wip31.jpg

wip32.jpg

wip33.jpg

wip34.jpg

wip35.jpg

wip37.jpg

wip3.jpg

wip.jpg

The finished work:

poolfinished.jpg

finished3.jpg

20190617_062916.jpg

20190617_062913.jpg

20190617_062908.jpg

As we were leaving the festival it began to snow, in June and in California.
It snowed 2ft.

This painting is 4ft x 3ft oil on wood.
Prints are available.
Accepting inquires on purchase.

The title is "Pinecrest 2ft"

Moran can be reached by the link.

http://www.morangallery.com

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @morangallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 100 comments. Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

Thank you Spider

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61906.25
ETH 2905.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64