A Winning Mask | Tribute to my country Venezuela

in #art5 years ago

step21.jpg

Greetings dear friends, and lovers of art ..!

Today I bring something very different to what I usually show you :)... Today I bring you an artwork that is not a drawing but a piece of crafted work! This work is brand new and exclusively posted only to my Steemit!

Before showing the process let me explain why I made this mask:

Short description

I will try to explain as brief as possible the history of this "Winning Mask"

One of the activities that I love doing other than drawing is doing craft works with my hands, as I am currently working as a teacher and I am always creating different crafts for my children.

Every year in the preschool where I work we do a mask contest with a size of approximately one meter, in this contest all the teachers who work in this institution participate, the initiative of the school is to make the children participate in its realization and thus they they can develop creativity, taking into account that when performing different techniques they develop their fine motor skills.

The theme of the mask is free choice, so I did not hesitate a second to imbue it with Venezuelan motive because it is evident that our country is going through very hard moments. There has been a lot of tension and anguish and it is not time to celebrate, which is why in addition of making the mask (since it is a compulsory activity in the preschool) I wanted to include a message, which was: that despite the festivity (obligatory) at work, we never stop thinking about everything that is happening in Venezuela! This was my way to express the strong feeling that I have, an important message to me: that despite the obligations of day to day, Venezuela is always in our thoughts.

My main idea was to make a Venetian style mask, but if I wanted to do something unique I felt that I should add something more, that's why I took the headband that appears in this image as a reference.. It should be noted that every detail and technique used in this mask were of my own inspiration.

I hope you can appreciate the creation process, later I will show you all the masks that participated in the contest:

PROCESS

The first thing I did was a sketch of the mask on a small scale, as in any drawing there is a design stage and in a craft's work, this is also true. You have to make a basic layout to know what are the steps and materials that you should get.

step1.jpg

On a sheet of cardboard I drew the mask on a large scale, about 50 cm. Then I cut all the elements from the cardboard.

step2.jpg

Then with a pencil I draw all the details that the mask has.

step3.jpg

The part of the headband is not attached to the mask, this part was separate so that it could be easily manipulated by children.

step4.jpg

I enjoyed this part a lot, since I had to draw with the ink pen, I just took the shape of the mask and began to include the different shapes that looked good together. I spent hours doing this part of the mask.

step5.jpg

At this point I had finally had finished inking all the details of the mask.

step6.jpg

With markers, coloured in the patterns and also filled in the spaces in between with the black ink, all very neat and symmetric.

step7.jpg

Around the eyes, place wooden triangles which were painted with carpentry varnish. And with blue colour, paint the bottom.

step8.jpg

I realized that the mask was not very stable so I had to paste it to another card to make it more cohesive. Also, please see some details of the mask added shimmer and shininess.

step9.jpg

Then I added the other details, the flowers are made with fabric (they are stuffed with cotton), which gives a refreshing effect.

step10.jpg

Then it was time to make the headband, this is the step where, with the help of the children, we made hundreds of balls of paper to fill this headband.

step11.jpg


step12.jpg


step13.jpg


step14.jpg

Then we put them all together.

step15.jpg

With foami or EVA foam white color I made 8 stars, as the flag of my country has them.

step16.jpg

The feathers were made with crepe paper, measure about 20 cm each, we made 40 feathers of each color.

step17.jpg


step18.jpg

In the end they would be arranged this way.

step19.jpg

And everything together would look like this. We added glitters to the parts were a bit plain. Where the feathers are, we added glue and supporting sticks to make them good and solid.

step20.jpg

Final Result

This is the final result, on the sides I added a Turpial (national bird) and an Orquidea (national flower).

step21.jpg

Here I show you the masks that participated in the contest, I would love to read your opinions and what would be your top three:

This is a poster, it was also an option if you did not want to make the mask, and in it there is a mask with very beautiful colors.

step22.jpg

This mask has as motive "Arpa, Cuatro y Maracas", All are Venezuelan instruments, and also leaves the "Cuatro" an Araguaney our national tree. This idea is very original, also attached to the feeling of being Venezuelan.

step23.jpg

Mine <3

step21.jpg

This has a Harlequin motif, with common poker symbols.

step25.jpg

This some will know, others not, I will say that this is a national symbol adopted by Venezuelans, it is an iconic character of our country, which belongs to a food brand that has a lot of products in our country. It is another poster with national feeling.

step26.jpg

An anitfaz without any reason in specific.

step27.jpg

It is obvious that most of the teachers had the same intention as me, and I love that we all have our country present in simple ways. This is another beautiful mask with a Venezuelan motif.

step28.jpg

And finally a poster that alludes to a circus.

step29.jpg

A unique Handcraft made by @naideth.

I had never won a mask in my work, I've been there for 6 years, and it meant everything to me, (all the techniques were made by the children, I did not put pictures of them since I do not have the permission of their parents).

Let me know your top three of these masks, I will greatly appreciate your comment

Thank you very much for visiting my blog and for all the support, a big hug to all..!!

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Thank you very much for the support friends <33

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Naideth from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @naideth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94