Dogwood Mosaic Comes Alive Through the Glazing Phase

in #art6 years ago

cover photo eye candy.JPG
as the ceramic tesserae come out of the glaze firing (kiln), I put them together on top of the drawing

If you’ve followed my posts, you know that I’ve been a ceramic artist for about 25 years and most of that time has been spent making ceramic mosaics or specialty tile commissioned by clients. These days I’ve specialized even further to meet the changes to the economy and the effects of global trade in the US., and now focus on creating the kind of mosaics and tile that factories avoid making because it’s too fussy, too personal or doesn’t make financial sense for large scale reproduction.

A few of my posts in the past 3 weeks have been about a very small mosaic made for a couple in their late 50s here in Portland, Oregon. They have an alcove that they would like to fill with a focal piece of art and for this mosaic to reflect what they love - their garden and each other. The birds and plants were chosen because they are their favorites.

The basic structure of a commission, almost any of my commissions tends to be something like this:
meeting with the client to get to know them, their vision and possibly their space-

nook sf.jpeg

drawing up my design -
Lind drawing sf.jpeg

determine the palette and then show both drawing and palette to client -

Lind palette and drawing sf.jpeg

Next I make slight revisions as needed and show the changes to the client for approval.

All of the above steps can happen digitally or in person depending on the location of the project as well as the preferences of the client. Usually if it’s a local project the client enjoys studio visits so much of this occurs in person. However every client I’ve ever had enjoys having a connection with the process in some capacity so I always email or text photos at key moments showing progress.

I continue on to the making phase which begins with rolling slabs, transferring the design on to the wet clay and cutting out the mosaic:

slab rolling sf.jpeg[]tracing sf.jpeg

cutting scene sf.jpeg

Once cut, I bisque fire the piece and when it cools and comes out of the kiln I begin glazing and this is where my last post left off -
bisqued, ready for glaze.JPG

At this point I’ve been bit by bit working away at the glazing. Because it’s such a small piece (17” x 10”) and each color has to be just right in relationship to the whole, I’ve glazed one section at a time, fired it and looked it against everything else before glazing the next section. This allows me to make adjustments the next color if needed.

What gives color, shine and atmosphere within ceramic glazes is the chemistry of the minerals and temperature so it’s a little bit unpredictable even if I’m familiar with the glaze. There isn’t a lot of room for fudging anything with this small piece, so I’m proceeding cautiously.

Here are the results from the first 2 glaze firings. I place the tiles on the kiln next to their neighbors helping me to keep track of where the pieces belong throughout the process -
01.jpg

As I review my results, I'm proud of the insides of the dogwood flowers. I used 3 layers of color over the carefully carved 3 dimensional stamen to get the yellow -green depth of color -
03 detail dogwood.JPG

I put together all of the tesserae I’ve glazed so far on top of the drawing to see what I have so far -
04 .JPG

I'm also pleased with the Goldfinch, it has the bold look that characterizes the male -
05 goldfinch.jpeg

The tulip leaves and stems however will need reglazing since they are too pale -
06 tulip leaves.JPG

I'm going to use this glaze with olive, blue-green, gold tones which offer the needed richness over the lighter glaze -
07.JPG

The Chickadee is fine but it also needs a little more pop so I'm going to apply some white glaze to the edges of some of the feather for definition -
08 detail chickadee pre-reglaze.jpeg

Assessing my next steps with the remaining tiles to be glazed-
09.JPG

Stay tuned for more as I finish this commission next week and I thank you for supporting my blog, it makes it possible for me to continue making art! I always appreciate your comments, feedback and friendship.

A special thanks to @osm0sis for teaching me how to center photos in a post, an invaluable tip <3

Follow these links to see more posts about this project:
https://steemit.com/art/@natureofbeing/more-about-the-drawing-phase-within-another-commission
https://steemit.com/art/@natureofbeing/cutting-phase-of-the-dogwood-mosaic-from-wet-clay


FOOTER.jpg

Sort:  

Brilliant as usual Ruth! Keep 'em coming! Love the colors and photos of close-ups. Can't wait to see the end result :)
And you're so welcome for the help. It's the least I could do 😍

big compliment coming from you, thank you!! I didn't quite get the 2 photo thing right but I was in a hurry and will play around with it more in the future to get more comfortable. I'm also going to try to use 3 and if I discover anything I'll let you know. xo

You did get it, that's exactly it! (apart from the 2 barely visible [] in the middle - if you just erase them in the code I sent you then you're set).
I do like the 3 little ones you displayed. Were you thinking of doing all 3 side-by-side? If so, you could get it with a collage as well (I use fotojet.com for collages)

yes those 3 little ones worked on 2 lines but I did want them side by side. I'll investigate fotojet. Thank you again!!!

Beautiful work of art @natureofbeing you could be a motivation to my younger brother in high school cos he loves art

What a magnificent art by dear @natureofbeing, your 25 years of mosaic art, you are so special artist as mosaic, you ate genius, carry on

such kind words, thank you so much!

Far out honey! Serious skills much? I am in love with this and wish you lived closer. I would adore a custom design for our new house.

Already I can see all the work and love put into this, it truly is stunning. Well done love xx

Thanks a lot for sharing your process! I'm always quite impressed with artisan artists, it feels so real, the amount of labour that you put in your work is impressive. I can only imagine what it feels like if you work on a piece on a span of weeks (?) and seeing the end result: it has been a gradual process, so it's not a 'sudden' end result - are you still very critical at that point since gradual also means you've been editing and editing for a while? Or is there a point in the process it really feels finished to you? Can you immediately tap in the fact that you 'once' started from zero and this what you made?

Just curious and looking forward to seeing what it will look like when finished :-)

Hi @soyrosa, these are really great questions! Most of the pieces I do span several months and even a tiny piece like this one was stretched out over 2 months because I'm always juggling several projects and can't just do one at a time. This works well with ceramics given the frequent waiting periods of drying, firing time and allows for decision making to happen in an organic well-considered way.

This also helps the whole critical issue. Making the piece over a long period of time can go 2 ways - either I can gradually love it and watch it coming together or I can decide to remake parts during the process because I don't like how it's working. This is always at my own expense and unfortunately very time consuming, yet I always do it if needed because I can't live with shipping a piece that I don't feel good about. It helps too that I work with my partner who is an artist with a really great eye. Very often we pull the each other over to look at a piece one of us is making to help assess how things are working. Generally by the time the piece is finished I feel good about it. If not I keep reworking it until I do!

Often deadlines are tight and we have to simply do the very best possible within the timeframe but usually it's ok. For the most part having 25 years of doing this under my belt has helped me to make peace with the natural process of what I'm making. Projects rarely come out as I plan but usually something else that's good comes forth.

Thanks for your support and thoughful questions!

Thanks a lot for your elaborate answers!

You've been doing this for 25 years! Takes hat off

It's amazing you have a 'work partner' in your husband as well! It can be lonely working as an artist since we often don't work in offices, live and create very solitary. I'm glad you don't have to go through all of it alone and have easy access to a second 'eye'!

I'm interesting in following more of your process <3 Hope this one turns out the way you want it to :-)

You are a real pro! Always impressed when I see you post about your work. We are so lucky to do be able to do what we love for a living. Now with steemit I can to. I've always dreamed to be a travel writer/blogger. I had the travel part down for over a decade! Now I've got the writing/blogging and income part down as well. Certainly have found a home here on Steemit. Seeing you do your thing makes me smile! Hope you are having a great evening :) and thank you for sharing! -Dan

thanks Dan and how wonderful that you are able to live your ambitions now, it's so great to know this is possible for all of us! I'm not quite there yet but have pieces of it and know it will all come together for me in good time. I'm also really enjoying certain aspects of where I am now, like the 2 commissions I have that are with great clients and my involvement on steemit too - loving this so much!

I'm so impressed by your work, as I might have said before :)
This work is so beautiful in all detail. I love the colours and the tiny pieces that you put together to such amazing artwork.
Really nice to read about how you work with your clients. It's personal and close, it must be a nice way to work. They must feel very special and important :-)

Thank you so much @kerlund74, you are right - the clients are very special and important to me. It's such an honor to work with people in such a creative and personal way, I really like this aspect of my work. Thanks for being so supportive and always leaving such nice comments!

oh what a beautiful art! I am anxious to see your final work, you have a lot of talent. Congratulations.

Such a complex and beautiful work!I admire. A very original manifestation of artistic talent. It deserves the highest praise! Very nice.

you are incredibly kind, thank you so much!

I like people who are passionate about any creativity. They always have this special inner light.

I agree, I often see this in others and it's magnetic to me!

Wow, I love the detailed explanations and your pictures are fascinating. What a meticulous and fascinating process. Followed! Can't wait for more.

thanks so much @donovanpage! thanks for taking the time, this was a long one for sure

Wow! Beautiful work! :) it is turning out so well! Thanks for giving us such a detailed look at your process!

thanks so much @nickh725, this was a longer than usual post but somehow it made sense this time. Really appreciate your great support!

I think it works well! :) you are very talented!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67