Happy Christmas Eve With Summer Tanager Art Out of the Kiln

in #art6 years ago

gingko bird bef regla.JPG
Summer Tanager on Gingko Branch, sculptural ceramic glaze painting 9" x 12", (btw, the background is more cheerful as the pale green it actually is than the gray it appears to be in this photo).

Wishing you a very happy, healthy and love-filled Christmas wherever you are!

Good morning! Today in Portland, Oregon USA it is Christmas eve day. As a child in my half Jewish half Christian family, this was the special event much more than Christmas day.(we also celebrated the Jewish holidays but that’s another story) My mother is Danish in keeping with the traditions of her lineage, on Christmas eve we always had a feast of roast goose, duck or capon and then went around the table opening our 3 or 4 gifts which were often handmade.

Afterwards we would have rice pudding with almonds and when making it, she would slice up all the almonds except one. The person who got this single whole almond in their serving of pudding got a special gift. We would all sit in suspense watching each other in excited anticipation while taking each bite carefully to feel if the prize almond was in our mouths.

Danish hearts 2016.jpg

We never had a Christmas tree but would decorate our huge colonial fireplace (built in the 1720s) with Danish paper hearts we made from last year’s wrapping paper throwaways and fill them with candies. I have always loved this day and still do.

In the spirit of Christmas, today I would also like to share the follow-up to my Summer Tanager on a Gingko Branch piece which I made to use as an image to accompany good wishes for the holidays and for the coming new year. Each year I make a piece for this purpose and send it out as a digital card to the people in my life.

My Last post took you through the wet clay portion of making this slightly sculptural painting along with the application of an underglaze coat.

gingko bird piece.jpg
gingko leaves and bird carved and formed in wet clay

It then went in to the bisque firing, was glazed and here’s the result:

gingkobird bef regla 2.JPG

Thank you to each of you for your friendship and presence in my life. You have changed me and are deeply embedded in what I value most about life these days. Cheers to a beautiful Holiday season!

I still make Danish hearts every year!
Danish heart making.jpg

FOOTER.jpg
giphy.gif
by the queen of gifs, @stellabelle

Sort:  

I am surprised you came to my blog.
I came to your house, and here is another space!
Today - I met you.
Suddenly the winter feels warm!타타다소곳.jpg
full voting!

so sweet :-)) thank you so much @tata1, I really love your drawings, your poetry and your signature stamp also. All together it's like a gift!

Oh .. how good was I if I could speak English well?
If I did, I would be able to talk a lot with you ...
I feel your heart. Thanks.

all works are beautiful but the last one - something else
it's another type of Art

yes these are Danish Christmas hearts, not really art but more like home crafts however are lots of fun and make a home or xmas tree beautiful

no! i didn't mean to downprise your work!
the bird is made elegantly and clear and there's used interersring technique
every peace is original
I see interesting painting under the pumpkun
the last one just can't not to cach your eye!
good luck with your creative work !

ah yes, now I understand. You are very observant to see that little glaze painting of a quince tree! It's 10 years old and still a piece I love, thanks for noticing it!

Your desk is amazing, creative stuff go on !! =)

that's my kitchen table :-) and yes always something creative happening in some part of my world. Thanks for your support !

Very Creative work , I like it so much !

wao very beautiful bird @natureofbeing

  • Your Post is listed in F-RESTEEM winners list:
    To know more about winners list : click here

awesome, thank you!

Stunning work, Ruth! I love the simplicity in the design. We have gingko trees in our neighborhood and see the leaves blanket the ground in September. Happy Holidays to you and your family!

Thanks so much Eric, glad you like it! We have Gingko also and those leaves really are beautiful in the fall. Happy holidays to you as well!

Beautiful Art ⭐️❄️ Seasons Greetings

thank you @esaia.mystic :-), you too!!

Beautiful ceramics work, @natureofbeing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61560.41
ETH 2894.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61