Mermaid, Art by niko3d with a touch of Steem Monsters

in #art6 years ago

Hey all

I've been painting away at this mermaid image for abit of time :-) and thought it's probably about time to post the image.

20180715_080546_0001.png

But first a little context :)

This painting started when I made an open request to the steem monsters discord group a few weeks back.
I asked a simple question what monster should I paint next for the steem monsters art contest hosted by @steemmonsters

I had one wonderful suggestion from @crystalpacheco30,
She said "You should paint a mermaid!" I replied "Yes that is a great idea, Though she may not be the mermaid that you picture in your head, I do like to twist things upside down sometimes"

So off I went....

iPad and Apple pencil in hand.
I had a vision in my head already but it was a bit fuzzy, I didn't draw anything so to speak, instead I painted numerous iterations of this fish like mutant woman from under the sea. I ended up with the image below. Art process to follow directly after.

Final image with Colour Grading

IMG_0027.jpg

It was more of an evolution of my initial idea until I reached something that felt right.

The Evolutionary Process In Video Form

You can see this process in my video below, which features some astounding music from @jeffandhisguitar, be sure to check out his blog and music.

At first I wanted to have an almost translucent skin where we could see an underlying skeleton of the mermaid.
I then thought about adding gills and adjusting her to have a more distorted fish like head, which sat rather big on her shoulder.

Maybe it could have worked.

But I wasn't feeling it. So I decided to keep the same facial features and re-design the proportions.
Matching more of an adult female human but a strange hybrid mermaid lady, with a skin that crosses the boundaries of fish and mammal.

I also wanted to create an illusion of depth and increased the underwater murkyness, almost like a thick fog and reminiscent of my previous post Mist Dragon

The Three Elements

The three elements I felt where key to this image are made up of her hair, eyes and reflections on her skin. They aren't super detailed but enough to give the idea that there is more detail hiding in the image.

Painting Done, Next Up The Colour Grade.

Once I refined the image to a more finished state I started looking at the colour grade. I purposely kept the original image a little flatter then usual colour wise, this gives me a good base to colour grade from. But honestly I rather like the softer more pastel like look.

I ended up with 4 variations, and I'm wondering which one do you all prefer?

pixlr_20180715074501208.jpg

#1
IMG_0027_20180715075233083.jpg
#2
IMG_0027_20180715075640039.jpg
#3
IMG_0027.jpg
#4
image_20180715075825389.jpg

Let me know what you all think in the comments below.
Thanks for viewing
Nick aka @niko3d

...........................................

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

..............................................

Sort:  

I think my fav would be somewhere bewteen #2 and #3 ... the saturated blue and green but an unsaturated red for the skin is what I'd like to see :P

I did make up that variations, but I ended up experimenting a little more :)
1532243638951.jpg

wow... nice... yeah.... I think now it has that proper underwater-spectrum... kudos

That I can do :D expect an update when I get a chance.

Amazing artwork, i think this is the way mermaids really look like hahah. awesome entry for the Steem Monsters. Wish you the best luck.

Cheers for the kind comment, thanks for the lucky wishes too. Certainly some wonderful art and creative posts for this one.

What a lovely mystical and mythical beast you are making here. wonderful.

Thanks @donnadavisart, very much appreciated :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by niko3d from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi niko3d,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow many thanks to the curie curators for picking my post :-)

Bloody brilliant my friend :D

3 for me.

Cheers for the mention.
And dam, if I was a merman, I would be sniffin around for some salty action with her :D
Cheers Niko :D

Thanks Jeff :D haha salty action 👾only you man :P
3 is my favourite too, I think fraenk is right though about a mix of two of them. Will sort that tonight and post in comments.

Ya man. They were all great.
I am mesmerised by her.
So attractive, yet so strange as well.
I bet she could kill viciously too.....!
Wooooooooo

What a spooky mermaid! Nice art @niko3d keep it up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62841.54
ETH 3040.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92