The Loft Galleries: Current Featured Artists

in #art5 years ago (edited)

I'd like to share some photos that I took of this month's featured artists at the Loft Galleries in San Pedro, California where Amanda has a space.

zaiplw2kim.jpg

Every couple of months, a new artist or group of artists puts their work on display. Sometimes it is quite good, and other times.. Well, not so much!

bg5p5969nu.jpg

I will give all of the artists one thing, though. They all do their own thing. I don't know exactly what is is that I feel about these houses being thrown into a lake, but it is definitely different!

fvmltztvpt.jpg

I'll will say that it is pretty trippy! You'll have to forgive me for not adding the names of the artists right away. I need to go back to the studio and mark them down.

Funny enough, I did take pictures of the little cards, but like an idiot, I didn't take the photos in context with the artwork, so I don't know which name goes with which work. Doh!

These next ones are pretty wild! There is so much going on. This one seems to be quite the political statement:

st80imsc3t.jpg

I only just noticed as I was posting the above image that there is a tiny little Donald Trump looking like Humpty Dumpty sitting on his border wall. Perhaps some of you can further interpret this painting.

The next one just looks like someone's bizarre acid trip to me. Of course there is probably a lot more to it that I am aware of.

33r3dwewek.jpg

I love that psychadelic horse-man thing sitting in the chair. That's pretty awesome. There are a lot of crazy things happening in that painting!

This next one seems to be an acid trip as well, but with famous people. I think that is Joey Ramone in the back left:

f8onc78vqc.jpg

Can any of my followers clue me in to who else is depicted in that painting? I'd be interested to know!

Now, the following paintings are probably my favorites. There is something about these that really draws me in.

337s8moo5p.jpg

muvet37mqp.jpg

wukwnik27v.jpg

I love the shadowy faces. Their expressions are great! I always enjoy it when I see an artist do something different and interesting, yet quintessentially fine art.

pshn38kn7n.jpg

s8jk81sorv.jpg

3nljhwm4gg.jpg

I found it interesting that the artist put the red and white brush strokes on some of the portraits but not all of them. I am not an expert on things that artists do as signatures.

1qa7wv48io.jpg

vsziaz61kj.jpg

I know that each artist tries to do something unique and interesting that sets them apart from the rest. Sometimes I think this is a real sticking point for many artists.

zolk4v8z19.jpg

6chvs0jo6a.jpg

18yjkpkbeq.jpg

I imagine that it can't be easy trying to be simultaneously unique, yet fit into the contemporary mold of what is called a fine artist. I won't get into the whole argument of what is art. That can be quite the slippery slope!

That's all for now, my friends. Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09