You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wish 9. Jesus Christ

in #art5 years ago

GAH! The thumbnail looked like an Assyrian deity, similar to the statuette used in the Exorcist, "PAZUZU"! When I looked again, it seemed to me like a sun-god of ancient Egyptians, the Winged Sun Disk. Then I read "Jesus Christ" and the mindfuck was officially established. But only at first glance, because I believe that the deities of the major religions are just aspects of the same concepts that were troubling people in those times.

Sort:  

Yes, I admit that it is slightly confusing when you rethink the normal iconography of Jesus. It is actually rather interesting. I have chosen to hide his face as it could be any male face, and by doing so I have moved into the Jewish tradition of Ikonophobie and partly into the Muslim ditto. As I write, and others have noticed it looks rather pagan, but as Christianity (thank GOD) has no only had a few outbreaks of iconoclasm it is actually pretty legit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87