MEGA POST! NEW ART! Original Movie Poster Illustration, Steps + Gif

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Evening everyone! I come to you with a new piece done for a client over seas. I got the chance to read a new script for a potential movie! My job was to come up with a poster to help them promote the movie. Here it is!! =D And here are my steps as well, I hope you guys enjoy.

levi-hinton-7.jpg

STEP ZERO!! I actually made 2 posters for them, my original was really old.. and I didnt really care for it too much, I don't think I put too much effort into it so it was scratched! I will show you guys that one real quick. :)
poster-concept.png

step-6.jpg

So yea that one is old news.... TIME for the new!

Step 1. Everything begins with an idea, a mental sketch. I remember I was actually going on a night time walk with my special lady when this composition hit me! SO I went home and sketched it right away! The photo in his hand was going to be that of himself and his recently deceased mother. I had two versions in mind.
concept-2.jpg

levi-hinton-concept-1.jpg

Step 2. They were very happy with it but the main actor needed to show some face! So I resketched and redesigned and I came up with the new design and started coloring right away! It was still really messy.. but all that will be fixed by the end. This is a very long process.
1.jpg

Step 3. Here you can see that Ive already began painting over my messy lines, I want this one to look really painterly and professional, the doggo is looking cute :P
2.jpg

Step 4. That car took forever to do... I also fixed his arm positioning it looked quite awkward. Also the doggo is coming more to life!
3.jpg

Step 5. I must be on hour 15 or something by now. I had to completely redo the face, they wanted it EXACTLY like the actor so there was another few hours of concentration. The background is really starting to come into focus, the main characters are also starting to look more finished.
5.jpg

Step 6. Nearly complete!! This has been a really long project... Just that hand now. After talking to the clients they decided on a boxing glove instead of the photograph! SO just a few more hours left!
6.jpg

FINISHED!!! =D They were extremely happy with the end product!! And so was I ^_^
7.jpg

AND HERES THE MAGICCC!

Well there you go guys! I was really wordy this time so I hope you guys enjoyed it! ^_^

Be sure to follow me for lots more art and tutorials!

-Nycto

Sort:  

Love how the poster evolved. I like his face much better at the end. You're quite talented.

steemsig.png
Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica
new post of Andromeda is up ...
running for her life across the chain bridge, Budapest

thank you so much man! =D Just lots of practice and hard work I suppose!

WOW! Wth ..! :D Awesome! <3
Resteemed, upvoted!

woooo thanks for the resteem! =D Yea I have regular projects and then ones like this, the more time I spend on something the better it turns out ^_^. Thanks for looking!!

You're welcome, its my pleasure! you are very talented. =)

you do very well buddy,,

thank you my friend! =D

post and share in steemi, my posts yes ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61293.86
ETH 2930.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65