Sketch #9, Princess and the Troll, ORIGINAL ART, Steps + Gif

in #art6 years ago

Hello all my fellow steemians!! =D Its me! And im back with a brand NEW illustration. This past month Ive begun my new semester and its all been about the sketching, and without reference I might add. I am now taking my sketching to new levels! And I want to show you what I've done and take you through the process. :D.
ban.jpg
11.jpg

Alright lets begin!! :)

Step 1. Blue Line structure.

With this one, or well just about all my works its always very important to get a framework going. SO once I have my idea I have to start sketching the shapes for what is to come! I have made many guidelines for myself and this will make the next step easier for me.

1.jpg

Step 2. Blue Line Sketch

Now I can begin sketching more form and character into these two, still a very simple phase but this is going to set me up to be able to start my linework! :)

2.jpg

Step 3. One last blue step...

Foundation is really really important in just about anything, Especially since I am doing this without reference I really need to make sure it all looks good before beginning my line work. SOO more blue sketching! XD

3.jpg

Step 4. LINEWORK!!!

Now lately I have really been concentrating on line work, so it took me about 3 hours just to do all the lines. It took me 8 hours total but lets bring you guys to the coloring step after this!

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

Step 5. Beginning color.

Now you will notice that the size is larger now. This tends to happen when you dont really think about composition too strongly.. so I had to fix that. NOW its looking much better, and I have begun to color as well! Since I plan on keeping on my lines I just simply paint underneath.

7.jpg

Step 6. Finding your wings.

No this isnt some artist espression... well it might be BUT I decided to add wings on this step. :). ALSO the background. You can see it slowly coming together.
8.jpg

Step 7. More color, stay true to your lighting.

One of the hardest parts of drawing from the brain is to keep in mind how your lighting is in play.. you have to know how lighting and color works and think of your characters and objects as 3d objects. I still have a little ways to go.

9.jpg

Step 8. Almost there.

And then you reach that sweet spot where you can almost stop... but you dont. :)

10.jpg

Step 9 FINISHED!!!

Though this isn't as clean and as realistic as my other stuff its complete. I am trying to find my old comic style and mix it with all the knowledge that Ive obtained these past 2 years. I hope you guys like it :) LOTS MORE TO COME!
11.jpg

AND THE MAGICCCCC

Well Again my name is Nycto and I really hope you guys enjoyed this tutorial today ^_^ Im just gonna keep on creating so feel free to follow me! =D

-Nycto

Sort:  

Emazing drawing and very cool

Really great post about process @nyctoinc. I love watching how artwork develops. Thank you for sharing!

Thank you very much my very talented friend :). I love your art as well!

you are too kind, but i'm happy to have such amazing admirers :)

Hello!
A very interesting and good job!

Thank you @wild-fluff im glad you enjoyed it =D

She looks boss! Nice artwork @nyctoinc

Thank you so much @gpalav =D Im really glad you liked her!

This art is amazing @nyctoinc awesome work and today is the day seen a wonderful work I followed you.

woo!! =D Thank you @absn thanks for the follow and Im glad you liked my stuff!

Hello! Excellent graphics! Is this an original character, did you invent it yourself?

Thank you @marymik23 and yup this is 100% original :). All mine ^_^.

This is a great rarity and great talent. That's cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67