From the Studio - Recent Pottery & Ceramics Handmade By Me!

in #art6 years ago

whitebowlswirl5.jpg

I don't usually write about my own work since I'm so involved with other craftsmen's work and have always thought it would be best to keep my head down and make for fun instead of worrying about my work and comparing it to others (although I'm sure that's only natural). It's only the last year or so that my work has started to become more fruitful.

It feels like a long path in all honesty. I started making ceramics around 5 years ago, only the last 2 years have I been able to build my own studio and have been able to practice on a daily basis. Recently I've been able to sell some of my works to a select amount of people and enjoy some success in this field, so I wanted to share some of the recent experiments that I pulled from the kiln today.

These are experiments in the way that some were tests in terms of the glaze and shape. I hope to narrow down the glazes to 3 or 4 that I can use but hope still to experiment as much as possible in the future. One of the best parts about making ceramics is seeing the progression and the experimentation. What might seem one dimensional actually has so many different variations and possibilities.

At the moment I'm working on closing the vases completely on the wheel, trimming and then pushing them in to a hard surface to make stone shapes. Hopefully I can get to a much bigger scale in the future but at the moment I'm still working on a small scale to get an idea of the process. I hope you like these pictures below and I can't wait to show you more in the future. 🙂

bluecupgrey4.jpg

greencup1.jpg

greenplate1.jpg

greenspiralcup6.jpg

halfwhitebowl1.jpg

lightbluecup3.jpg

lightblueopen-1.jpg

smallwhitevase1.jpg

spottedcuptall3.jpg

whirlbowl1.jpg

whitesquarebowl1.jpg

greenopenbowl1.jpg

greyswilmed2.jpg

porcegreycup4.jpg


A Selection of Previous Posts:

Forces of Nature - Porcelain and Stoneware Ceramics by Norman Yap
Playing with Perception - Abstract Paintings by Finnish Artist Liisa Pesonen
Breaking Free - New Sculptural Minimalism by Maria Bruun & Pernille Andersen
Nordic Simplicity - Vessels by Danish Ceramic Studio & Designer Ditte Fischer
Hidden Compositions - Paintings by Swiss Artist and Illustrator Yvonne Robert
The Possibilities of Illusion - Patinated Steel Sculptures by Stephan Siebers


Please follow me @oen for more interesting art, design and travel content.

Sort:  

These are all beautiful @oen! Bravo 👏 Do you sell your ceramics on Etsy? :)

Thanks so much! Not on Etsy at the moment. But I have thought about that recently as an extra thing to get my name out there a bit more. Currently I sell them on my website - https://shop.the189.com/collections/mark-robinson ... I have a portfolio here - http://mrmrobinson.com/ and have built a shop for it but have yet to release it. It's on my to do list though! :D

Thanks for sharing the links, man! From what I have seen on etsy, there are some ceramics shops that do very well :)

I like the speckled cup! I might get one or two of these in the future. Bookmarked your shop :)

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71