Oona Queen of the Fae from Magic: the Gathering

in #art7 years ago

I did it!

I finished a second piece within a week! I gotta say, it's taking me a little longer to get each drawing done than I necessarily would like, but considering the hiatus I'd taken from doing art at all, I'm rather pleased with the motivation I've had lately. That motivation has a large part to do with the art contest that @kommienezuspadt has put together, Trial by Comics.

As you may have seen in my post earlier this week, the theme for this week's contest is Magic: the Gathering. I love fantasy stories/artwork, and felt plenty inspired, and popped out a little drawing fairly quickly, but I wanted to do something that was more finished... And with the deadline for entries looming, I managed to haul ass and bang out a second entry! This is my interpretation of Oona, Queen/Mother of the Fae.

oona

I felt like giving watercolors a try for this one, and I'm fairly pleased with the results. My backgrounds could use a bit of work, but I consider it a win just having a background to begin with. haha

Here's the sketch, drawn in my giant sketch pad that's "for pens", as I knew I wanted to ink the outline, and wanted a smooth surface for that:
sketch

Some progress shots:
firstlayer
(Thanks little miss, for splattering paint across the table and onto my paper!)

secondlayer

morelayers

The finished painting, before the outline. (Actually, you can see I already laid down one line before realizing I didn't have a pic of it.):
painted

Outline finished, still mounted, to make sure the paper didn't buckle too badly:
lined

And a couple of detail shots:
magic

wings

I had a lot of fun playing around with this one. It took a lot of layers to achieve the final result, but it seems to have worked out well, without getting muddy, or wrecking the paper, which is sort of an accomplishment, since I'm used to working on 140lb watercolor paper for painting. lol

I sort of doubt I'll find the time or ambition to do another piece this large next week, but I suppose it depends on the inspiration. In any case, I'm going to try and do at least 1 submission each week, to varying degrees of complexity, if only just to keep the art muscle toned. ;)

Hope you like it!

Happy Friday!

Megan

Sort:  

What a beauty! Excellent use of the technique. Watercolor can be challenging and I like how you used it in different ways... more "loosely" in the areas around the figure, but also with great precision in the figure itself!

Yes! I like to bring the most attention to the figure, so try to keep the background loose, and the subject detailed. Thank you!

You do VERY good work --- I love the fantasy themes--- and it is nice to see traditional media!

Thank you very much! That means a lot. :)

Amazing drawing...great talent...hopefully I'll finish my drawing too😂

Thank you!
Haha it's so stressful, feeling that deadline approaching! Hope you get it done!

Congratulations @offbeatbroad, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1056 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2135.83. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Avatar faerie!!!

Good post! I'm going to follow you to see more post like this and for support us!

Thanks very much for your support. :)

Very nice job, I need to start drawing creatures and stuff. New follower here

Thank you!
Creatures are always fun, because you can get creative with proportions and different features... no rules! Woohoo! haha

Yep no right or wrong answers!

Congrats on finishing before the deadline! I think it's great that you found time to do a background and the colors look great!

Thanks! I always seem to take it right to the wire. lol

I'm really trying to push myself to do backgrounds, as much as I have disliked doing them in the past. It just makes an image look finished, even if it's not very detailed. So I'll just have to keep pushing myself out of my comfort zone. lol

Good luck! You’re gonna be a master at backgrounds in the near future! I’ll probably end up coming to you to help me finish my work. 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90