11 Official Entries for OlaivART Theme 2 ― SEA CREATURE, Traditional Art Contest

in #art6 years ago




Here are the 11 entries for the 2nd theme. I will be announcing the winners tomorrow, so stay tuned. To my dear readers, kindly give support to the participants by upvoting, resteeming, and commenting on their posts which I'll be mentioning down below.

Thank you & Good luck to everyone!



- 1 -

Title: "SEVEN" by @ralr11 (Post Link)

21.59 x 27cm | Letter bond paper, pastel chalks

ARTIST STATEMENT: One of the creatures of the sea that most impact me is the Giant Squid, this has always been associated or mythologized as an evil being although in this oprortunity we will see a very particular squid since this has only seven tentacles, for me in particular the Giant Squid It is a figure that attracts me because in its very essence it is a mysterious living being.

- 2 -

Title: Sea Turtle @christianyocte (Post Link)

8.5 x 13 in Vellum Board | Sketch Pen & Watercolour Pencil

ARTIST STATEMENT: I usually draw people that is why this art contest is an extra challenge for me. I choose to draw a sea turtle because I am amazed of the beautiful stories I know about them in the news, documentary programs and in the TV shows. I am happy that many are more aware of how we should treat our environment and the creations on it such as the sea turtles. Although, I have not seen any sea turtles in my naked eye, but I certainly know that they are very beautiful creatures.

- 3 -

TITLE: Cuttlefish by @gpieromusic (Post Link)

Dimensions: 220 x 297 mm | Black markers, Colored pencils

ARTIST STATEMENT: One of my fav things in art, is the way to mix different styles into a composition. This time, I wanted to take a own cuttlefish design, made with a comic style and a colorful degraded of blue sea into a triangle shape. This one fits very well as a tattoo design I could do in the future.

- 4 -

TITLE: Half Mermaid by @winizart (Post Link)

Dimension: 24,8 x 19 cm | Mechanical pencil, Graphite & Color Pencils

ARTIST STATEMENT: I have always been a great lover of marine life and its beautiful species, it is because of this affinity that I have always felt identified with the mermaids, if they ever existed it is possible that in some previous life, many centuries ago it was one. It is for this and more, that when thinking about marine creatures, the first thing I thought was sirens, so I did it by giving it a surreal touch (style that identifies me) to make it more interesting.

- 5 -

Title: Centenary by @naideth (Post Link)

Technique: Pointillism
Dimensions: 17 x 15 in Cardboard & Ink Ballpoint

The Sea Turtle is a truly extraordinary animal can live to more than 100 years, joined two fascinating elements in this art, pointillism and this beautiful and imposing animal. Many know of its existence but few know its reality, it is a species that is in danger of extinction and today I wanted to make a wake up call doing this drawing.

I am a lover of pointillism, this technique is really fascinating, it seems to be a small drawing but it was 5 hours of hard and satisfactory work, thank you very much for all your valuable support, successes to all the participants .. !!

- 6 -

Title: The Sea Monster by @ishanvirtue (Post Link)

Materials Used: Graphite Pencil and Sign pen
Technique Used: Stippling(pointillism) and Scribbling
Dimension Used: A4 size (8¼" X 11¾")

ARTIST STATEMENTAs visual artist when I saw the theme for this contest which is Sea Creatures. The first sea creature came to my mind was none other than the 8 tentacle Sea Monster the Octopus and honestly I want to see a real and big octopus and I was curious if the octopus only have 8 tentacle or more than that.

- 7 -

Title: Fatal beauthy by @juliensorel (Post Link)

Size: 21.5 cm. x 27.8cm
Material used for the drawing: pencil 8B and B, and charcoal.

ARTIST STATEMENT: The first image that came to me when I saw the subject, was a shark. It is my reference of predator, agility, speed and terror. Nothing like the fear and respect that this creature generates in anyone if we are close to the sea, the feeling of insecurity that surrounds us when we imagine having watched its fin break the continuity of the surface of the waves. I hope none of these sensations are present when you see my drawing and that you can concentrate only on the beauty of this animal and nature to which it belongs.

- 8 -

Title: Octopus Ink by @davids-tales (Post Link)

9" x 24" | Ink on Paper

ARTIST STATEMENT: When you say sea creature, one automatically thinks of Dark Creatures that lurk in the underbelly of the ocean. Creatures of myth and legend, once I read the theme I knew instantly that I wanted to make an octupus grabbing Poseidon's trident. Octopi is a creature that is both intelligent and intriguing . They can crawl, swim and learn. What better way to make this piece but with the very substance they squirt... ink.

- 9 -

TITLE: Creatures of the Sea by @arthur47 (Post Link)

8x8 in | Coloured pencil and chalk on paper

ARTIST STATEMENT: The fluidity of the movements and how they can move all around can be portrayed as a dance of sea creatures, showing great harmony and ellegance. The mostly unknown life under the sea is always pushing my imagination to figure out what Captain Nemo could have seen traveling in the Nautilus.

- 10 -

TITLE: The Mermaid by @vict23 (Post Link)

6 x 8 inches // Colour pencils & paper

ARTIST STATEMENT: When I draw mermaids always have been a symbol of the feminine, freedom and mystery. For me it is also a colorful environment that involves a lot of emotions as joy, happiness, self-knowledge and security.

- 11 -

Title: Mermaid’s Pose by @ja9garnett (Post Link)

12" x 18" | Watercolor on Paper

ARTIST STATEMENT: Aside from my dreams to go to outer space; exploring the vast system of universe, I cannot deny the fact that sometimes I imagine myself to be a mermaid and explore the deepest realm of the ocean where no man had ever been gone to. They are mystical creatures so I don’t let myself be fooled that they are actually real, that’s why they are remained as myths. This will be my first painting artwork posted here in this platform. It's been awhile since I painted something and hopefully you'll appreciate this masterpiece of mine.




To the participants, thank you so much! I hope to see you guys again in the next round!





DQmQuRC7j4HFpxk1rdofTYy8DycM3i6qgv6HcuWqd8JcePu.png


WITNESSES: @aggroed | @ausbitbank | @blocktrades | @cloh76.witness | @curie | @ginabot | @pfunk | @precise | @smooth.witness | @someguy123 | @steemgigs | @timcliff | @utopian-io
Sort:  

Good luck to all entrants! For sure the judge will have a hard time :)

Oh the art is awesome wish I could draw lol.

Goodluck to the participants. This looks fun. I might join the next round. :D

Yes, please! :D

Good luck to all art friends!!! All drawing are amazing <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.54
ETH 2918.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61