Project Agik-ik 2018

in #art5 years ago (edited)

InShot_20190609_030713282.jpgAgik-ik in English in sound of laughter.

Back in October, my good friend contacted me in Facebook asking if I'll be interested in selling my artworks for a cause.



I have always wanted to join a Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) project, and it was perfect because it'll be done during the yuletide season. So despite going through depression, I committed and promised to provide an artwork to anyone who donates €100, and that is the story behind this drawing.
PhotoGrid_1560025939041.png
Project Agik-ik was able to help out 200 kids of Sitio Iba, a very small town in the remote highlands of Cagayan de Oro, Philippines. They were able to provide school supplies, personal necessities like toiletries, and Christmas celebration food for the kids.

These children endure walking for an hour just to go to school, and then help out their parents in the fields since farming is their main source of livelihood. All of them work from an early age, deprived of childhood and the luxury of just being a kid. So if there's anyone deserving of Agik-ik's little presents, it is them.

Agik-ik's aim are threefold:

(1) to educate the kids the importance of hygiene;
(2) to empower the local community through collaboration; and
(3) to recognize the kids' efforts in making this work a better place.

Kids' needs:

(1) School Supplies ― School bag, Pencil Case, Pencils, Eraser, Ruler, Crayons, Notebook
(2) Hygiene Kit ― Hand Soap, Body Soap, Shampoo & Conditioner, Toothbrush, Toothpaste
(3) Christmas Package ― 500g Paste Noodles, 1 pack Tomato Sauce, 250g of Sausage/Hotdog

(Source)


PhotoGrid_1560026073867.png


The collaborative spirit was truly evident all throughout the event. People donated hand-made pencil cases, gave their time and talent to market the project, pledged to buy the pencils, eraser, shampoo & conditioner, et al. It was a beautiful thing to witness.

Please visit the social media accounts of Agik-ik to know more about it!FacebookInstagram


I personally wanted to do more for the project, but last year was one of my lowest of lows that even finishing one single drawing took all of my energy. It was sad on my part, and I truly suffered more because I blamed myself for promising a couple more artwork for the project but was unable to deliver at the end.

PhotoGrid_1560025721912.png
62188859_307828150127638_1864161307071086592_n.jpg

It was still a very good experience, and would like to participate more in NGO projects where I can share my art and help at the same time. If you happen to know some, especially projects in Philippines, feel free to contact me here.

Until my next post!

Thank you for reading,
Allyssa O. 🌸

Sort:  

I can't imagine how brave and strong you are after enduring and overcoming such ordeal. And then you have the heart to reach out to others even though you are challenged. Padayon lai!

P.S. Continue stanning BTS. 😂

Thank youuu, Kim! Hehe. And yes to BTS. I'm actually becoming a better person bc of them. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

What a nice project! Working under an NGO project is really fulfilling. ❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97