The Creature that Looked Like...

in #art6 years ago (edited)

giraffeMonsterRender.jpg

“Here, Cedric, now what does this creature remind you of?” The butler shrugged, but the Lord of Quaintmarsh insisted. "Come, man, give it some thought, don't be a flaccid mind."

“I can’t say, sire. Er, will you have the suckling pig for supper today, sire? Or perhaps a nice quail basted in that malt butter you so like?”

“Mm? Oh, I’m not sure. Whichever.” The Lord Quaintmarsh tapped his boot. He was distracted. A strange creature was just then craning its long neck over the hedge just between the two stone cherubs. It was staring at him as he stood there in the garden, as if it were waiting for some sort of permission. Or perhaps it was wondering how a man could be so round, just as the Lord was wondering how something might be so tall.

He clicked his tongue. “I swear I know it, it just circles around and around my tongue. It reminds me of something. This long neck it has, those eyes like fists and those nostrils. You could carry Old Widow Heather’s apples in its nostrils.”

giraffeMonsterRender4.jpg

“We do have apples, sire, would you like those as well, perhaps baked and sweetened with some treacle?”

“Ghastly thing, look at it.”

The genial butler cleared his throat. “Sire?” The Lord turned around a little, and with a spot of irritation. “What about peas, sire?" pressed the butler. He said 'peas' with a mousy smile. "The kitchen can make you a nice pea soup to go with the quail. Peas go nicely with malt butter. And with sheep cheese, if you have it with a warm, rye loaf. And the apples we can bake along with some rhubarb and mince in a pie for afters.”

giraffeMonsterSculpt6.png

The Lord turned now, fully enough that the strange herbivore was free to do whatever it wished, which was to eat this lesser Lord’s roses. It should also be said there was nothing lesser about the Lord’s body. In fact he was quite fat, which is why he said:

“What are you doing, Cedric?” asked the Lord, in that way that a house cat might ask why you bothered to come home after work.

“Sire?”

“All these questions about food,” said the Lord, pivoting on one leg and bringing the other forward, his entire person pointed at the butler. “All those questions, Cedric, what are you doing?”

giraffeMonsterSculpt5.png

The strange, languid creature proceeded to put a rose in its mouth and chew, and then another. It breathed in their scent with its large nostrils and licked them with its long tongue. The butler on the other hand stood very still. This Lord of Quaintmarsh had a way of teasing, if it was teasing. It was his voice. One never quite knew if it meant your last day alive. “I’m, er… asking what My Lord would like to sup on for the evening meal, sire.”

giraffeMonsterSculpt3.png

"No. You’re trying to fatten me up.” The fat Lord squinted down to a line. “You’re trying to fatten me up, aren’t you, Cedric?”

“Wha-? My Lord, no, of course not! Never!” Cedric even curled his lips for effect.

“Was that a sneer, Cedric? It was, wasn't it? I see you now. You stand there accusing your Lordship of afflicting himself with hog lard and fried birds, and sauces and puddings, and every ripened cheese in the region. You dare insinuate that your Lordship is a cul-de-sac for every roasted and battered pleasure? You dare say I did this to myself??” He stepped forward and his weight followed in waves.

Cedric the butler had turned pale. “My Lord, of course not!”

The strange, tall creature watched them and ate another rose.

“Then, you admit it. There is only you and I, and that blasted kitchen, and if it wasn't me, then it's you. YOU have been fattening me up all this time.” The Lord’s cheek started that quiver which happened when he ground his teeth and took shallow breaths.

“No, My Lord, please -- ggakk!“ The Lord’s fist had snatched out and grabbed the young man’s collar tight as a scout's knot. It cut the blood to his brain, and some of the air, which, incidentally, is when Cedric did his best thinking.

“WELL WHICH IS IT, CEDRIC? I DID THIS TO MYSELF, OR YOU’VE BEEN FATTENING ME UP! WHICH IS IT??”

giraffeMonsterSculpt2.png

“My L-l-l-l-lord, please. I… I… A GIRAFFE!” Cedric suddenly pointed at the long-necked beast. His voice was strained as if through a straw. “It reminds me,” he said, sputtered, coughed, and straightened a lose lock of hair that had fallen on his face with the sweat. A well groomed man through any fire, that Cedric. “It reminds me of a giraffe, sire!”

The Lord loosened his grip on the butler’s collar. He still held it, but he stared instead at the creature quietly eating the flowers. “Like a giraffe. Great crumbs, Cedric! I do believe you cracked it.”

“We, um," said Cedric, licking his lips just a little, "We do have some a nice crumb custard as well, sire.”

giraffeMonsterSketch.jpg

Original sketch in pen, sculpt done in Sculptris, rendered in Blender!
Hope you like the little nonsense story ;)

Keep it Steeming!

Sort:  

Love finding these little gems on Steemit, it really is a hub for creative folks to let it rip. Love it mate. By the way, wtf is that thing? 😂😂

I have NO idea ;)

It was a sketch I did, while having a beer and chilling out months ago. Then I decided to get back into 3D two nights ago and looked through my sketches to see if there was something I could sculpt. The mice in my head have very strange ideas.

I'm glad you like it! Thanks @goldiemr :)

Lol, let's try local Vietnemese rum and sketch some weird stuff together

Just love the sentance: The mice in my head have very strange ideas. lol!
Same here but I call them my ants (:
the creature is awsome btw. Thnx for sharing!

AAAAHAHAHAHAHA!

i think i need a beer too:))!!! if it makes you see the metamorphosis of zarafa

images.jpg

Seeing your creativity really i am impressed. Your blog is also creative and your beautiful digital art really fascinated me. Thank @oneminja for sharing this post with us.

Thank you so much, @jareen61 :) I'm really glad you're impressed!

I think it looks like squeezed head of an elephant. And the story was really good kept me engaged till the end..

HA!!! You're right! It DOES look like the squeezed head of an elephant. hehehehe. Next story.

I'm glad you like the story! Trying to find ways of sneaking a story into art and vice versa with neither of them really being related. So Im happy you felt engaged @arunchaubey21 :)

amazing art of friends

Continue, good luck always friends

@oneminja The animal you wrote was horned like a deer's antlers,
But his face is like a goat,

I know! It's a strange one, isn't it? hehe. Thanks for coming by!

Welcome ,, thank for your vote

Hahaha great post but the question remains unanswered what is that creature!????

@taqi, you'll have to ask the spider in my head. I don't like spiders so I won't ask him. You up for the task? hehehehe.

Glad you like the post!

what is the program did u use?

untitledG - Copy - Copy - Copy.png

For sculpting I used Sculpturis. It's a free software from the guys who make Zbrush. Then for the rendering I used Blender, which is not fun to use at all. But it's free.

Thanks for checking me out!

Success does not lie in results but in efforts. It is not necessary that you will get the result in your first attempt. It is about the efforts that you keep making to achieve what you want in your life. Being the best is not so important; doing the best is all that matters. It is not necessary that someone who is the best will surely succeed but you have to keep doing your best. It is your efforts that keep you going. Fall seven times but stand up eight.

yes I agree with you because if you challenge the obstacles that face you and you be patient sure you will do any thing you want

Yeah y not thank u for supporting me love my followers who support me

I will try to download it thank you for your answer

Yeah you should try it

Wow... good stuff.

Why thank you! :)

I have never seen such post tbh. It is incredible what people can post, the incredible good things they put up on the internet. :)

OMG! very nice. good work bro. Your post is exceptionally inventive and your excellent workmanship extremely captivated me. Thank u such a great amount for sharing @oneminja.

Thank you for the very kind words, @mirzaaliimran! I'm happy you found it so engaging.

Hi @oneminja. Nice to meet you.
i am very happy to meet my new friends on steemit

Nice to e-meet you too @chanmaly :)

Thank you for reply me. I will follow you every Post. Welcome my friends 😀😀😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00