Alice in Steemitland

in #art7 years ago (edited)

My year-in-review

alicetitle.jpg

Lost in Alice

Today, I've chosen some of my favourite Alice in Wonderland inspired posts that I've created during my past year on Steemit. Taking my inspiration from the words of Lewis Carroll my paintbrush and I fell down a wonderful rabbit hole and landed on the blockchain, this is the result...

We’re all mad here

“But I don’t want to go among mad people," Alice remarked.
"Oh, you can’t help that," said the Cat: "we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad."
"How do you know I’m mad?" said Alice.
"You must be," said the Cat, "or you wouldn’t have come here.”

― Lewis Carroll, Alice in Wonderland

madshoes.jpg

madshoesketch.jpg


https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/we-re-all-mad-here

Step into my shoes

shoesmad.jpg

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/step-into-my-shoes



Fly borogove fly!

'Twas brillig, and the slithy toves
Did gyre and gimble in the wabe;
All mimsy were the borogoves,
And the mome raths outgrabe.’

-An extract from Jabberwocky by Lewis Carroll , Through the Looking-Glass

flyone.png

flytwo.png

flythree.png


https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/fly-borogove-fly


Have you ever seen a borogove?
Up-close in real life?
Especially a mimsy one at that!
I’ve hear they can give quite a nip
Even with their upturned beaks
They don’t travel far
They can’t fly you see
They are a bird without wings
A shaggy mop on stilts
Very strange
Ever so odd
Not an everyday sight
How do I know?
The Mad Hatter told me all about them
Over a lovely cup of tea

-by @opheliafu

borogovesmed.jpg


https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/have-you-ever-seen-a-borogove


Fancy a cuppa?

'Yes, that’s it,' said the Hatter with a sigh: `it’s always tea-time, and we’ve no time to wash the things between whiles.’

Are you there Alice?

alicewatercolours.jpg

Pen and watercolour on paper

aliceslide.jpg

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/are-you-there-alice


The blue raven

The Hatter opened his eyes very wide on hearing this; but all he said was, “Why is a raven like a writing-desk?”
“Come, we shall have some fun now!” thought Alice. “I’m glad they’ve begun asking riddles. — I believe I can guess that,” she added aloud.

By Lewis Carroll, 'Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland', Chapter 7

torchone.png

torchtwo.png

torchthree.png

raven.jpg

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/the-blue-raven


I was a different person yesterday.

“I could tell you my adventures—beginning from this morning,” said Alice a little timidly; “but it’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then.”

― Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland , Chapter 10.

alicetoday.jpg


I fell into a rabbit hole this morning, I've struggled to get out all day...

I had a drink

that made me shrink

I really felt quite strange

So I gobbled down a cake

that cause my belly to quake

and I grew, and grew beyond my normal range.

aliceflowers.jpg

aliceflowerstwo.jpg

alicestill.jpg

https://steemit.com/art/@opheliafu/i-was-a-different-person-yesterday

Have a great day.. and be careful you don't fall down that rabbit hole...

unless, of course, you want to!

opheliafulogo.png

Sort:  

What a treasure trove you have here @opheliafu! Amazing work as always. I love "Fly Borogrove Fly!" That is my favorite. And how you made the black and navy raven look split in half, made it really look like it was sitting on the writing paper.; to me anyway. And the raven even looks whole at the same time. I feel like I never have the right words to show how much I love your work! :)

I drew that raven whilst I was sat in a tent using a torch light on my head to see by- there was a screeching owl in the tree above me...
‘What a curious helmet you’ve got!’ said Alice cheerfully. ‘Is that your invention too?’

Love it! Thanks for sharing this with me. :)

great!!! I love so much Alice and these pieces are just FANTASTIC!

Thank you... I'm working on an Alice in Steemitland series.

I am a big Alice fan! And the Jabberwocky was one of the first poems I learned as a child. Lovely paintings!

I have read that poem many times. I was given a lovely copy of 'Alice Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass' as a child- obviously I still have it!

How neat is that!

As neat as a hatters hat?

I don't know why the riddle, "Why is a raven like a writing desk?" just jumped into my mind lol

That's a great answer! I wish someone would have told the Mad Hatter that :)

These took my breath away. Wonderful in Wonderland

Thank you and just remember that ...“No wise fish would go anywhere without a porpoise.”

Nice, I adore Alice in Wonderland. Love your art and how you've paired it with book quotes.

“And what is the use of a book,” thought Alice, “without pictures or conversation?”
:D

What a fun post. I was super tired till I came across it. Thank you.

As sleepy as a Dormouse?

Cool deal!

Amazing photo's! Love the borogove's, very cool

All mimsy were the borogoves!

I have a doubt here , is it actually about alice in wonderland or does it have a hidden meaning. Like we people might find a wonderland somewhere. Are you talking about that or just a rhyme about alice? I too write so i try to find something deep in everything. I believe there must be something in it which I am unable to see. Is it so?

The meaning is what you take from it. For each person it will differ.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61905.09
ETH 2902.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55