Caterpillar

in #art7 years ago

caterpthumb.png

Acronicta aceris

Recently I was sat in the park on a sunny day having a picnic under a young sycamore tree, you can read about that in my post Picnic and leaves. When I came to leave the park I had a little stowaway on my picnic bag, a sycamore moth. I carried it back to a tree so it could continue its journey.


catpbag.png

The sycamore (Acronicta aceris) is a moth of the family Noctuidae. It is distributed through most of Europe, from central England south to Morocco. To the east it is found from the Near East and Middle East to West Asia.

The extraordinary larva is very distinctive, thickly covered with very long yellow and orange hairs with white spots outlined in black along the back. It feeds on various maples and also on common horse-chestnut, large-leaved lime, mulberry and pedunculate oak. The species overwinters as a pupa. Contrary to its bright colours, it is not poisonous, but may cause skin irritation if handled excessively.

Source Wikipedia

catptree.png

cater2pillar.gif

Inspiration

Inspired by its markings, bright colours and spiky hairs I created a piece of digital art using the photographs I had taken of it.

catshadow.png

caterpillbody.png

For the body of this strange creature I duplicated and layered the image of the caterpillar, flipping and turning the layers until this yellow and red form was created.

caterpillaralien.png

caterpillaralien.gif

opheliafulogo.png

Have a great day!

Sort:  

Besutiful piece.

I left a special message for you in your post for "Black Tree." Have a listen :)
Cheers
Bucky

Thank you so much! Off to listen to it now.

Impressive work, I like it! The sycamore moth is really beautiful and very inspiring! Well done ^_^

I have seen the moth a few times but never the actual caterpillar- so different from the moth!

A really beautiful work, I love the vivid colors you have used, it is mescalde colore embelllecen the work, congratulations dear friend @opheliafu
Thank you very much for sharing all the additional information on this wonderful track.
I wish you a beautiful week

Have a beautiful week too @jlufer, the sun was shining yesterday -I think summer had returned (cold and raining today though).

nice! haven't seen a bright colored one like that in ages, most around here are just orange and black or brown, nice captures :)

We get the odd green or black one, but this was a real punk rocker of the caterpillar world!

Beautiful artwork! Your colors are brilliant and expressive. Very nice. 👍🏼😁

Thank you, I wanted to take the shocking colours and appearance of the caterpillar and push it a bit further into a strange creation.

You accomplished your goal! You are a great and creative artist. I always enjoy your art. I look forward to seeing more of your art!

I like the bright colour and the spiky nature. If you are to add another different colour to the caterpillar, what would you have added?

I like the dark blue version in the gif.

This amazing creatures and so beautiful and develops to amazing butterfly. You did a great job indeed hence why you always get my upvote...the colors are amazing..

In addition to my last comment, feel free to join the conversation in my new post about future of steem...it will motivate you more about steem . More success to you.

Happy you enjoyed this piece of work @charles1, it was something a little different from me.

I did, thanks and more success my dear lady.

What a beast and what a great utilization of the inspiration! :)

A funny little bug he was- perfect inspiration for making art!

It is certainly extraordinary and has a power for inspiration :)

I love how you show your inspiration and process here @opheliafu! Its very psychedelic. Check out this original mandala painting I posted today! https://steemit.com/art/@stanhopeofficial/glass-chrysanthemum-original-painting

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61