Drawing for Dwelling -Pug

in #art6 years ago (edited)

pugTH.png

Woof! Woof!

I'm sharing with you 'Pug', a drawing I created for Chapter Twenty Six of Doug Karr's amazing novel Dwelling.

Something disgusting and wet swiped Mioko’s face, as she lay crashed-out on the white leather couch of Jake's studio. Standing above her with his pug on a leash, Jake's hands were full of his own dry cleaning.

Chapter Twenty Six of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

8inkmarks.png

Creating an illustration for Dwelling

pugdraw.png

The image of Strudel the pug was sketched out in pencil on the paper. Then masking fluid was applied to areas of the paper I wanted to remain white, such as the reflections in the dog's eyes.
April1810.jpg

A range of tones were built up using ink and water.

pugpaint.gif

inksplat.png

Patterns and mark making

To create the background pattern I lay netting over the paper and then lightly sponged ink over the top. A dip pen and drawing ink was used to add details to the drawing.

April1811.jpg

An old toothbrush was used to put a fine spray of ink across the background of the paper. To add the pattern onto the dog's lead I used a woodblock patterned stamp, painting it with ink then transferring the pattern over the grey ink tones of the lead.
April1812.jpg

2inkmarks.png

"This. Just. Will. Not. Do."

Mioko peered up at her boss.

"You were supposed to pick Strudel up from my loft an hour and a half ago. He pissed himself on the Eames chair. Not to mention the dry cleaning."

Chapter Twenty Six of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

pugboard.png

3inkmarks.png

Pug


Ink on paper

inksplat.png

Jake dumped the dry cleaning on top of her on his way to his desk. She sat up and stretched her shoulders back, closing her eyes for another quick instant, as Strudel started to soak her socks in canine saliva.

Chapter Twenty Six of Dwelling by Doug Karr.

6inkmarks.png

You can read the 26th chapter of Doug Karr's novel Dwelling now!


Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

This Pug is so perfect, it's exactly the pet I would imagine Jake dragging around... and in fact when I went to post this chapter, the drawing of your amazing pug made me change the text because I realized that Mioko had to be awoken by a sloppy wet lick from a dog that looks like this! Truly inspirational!

I wonder what he is thinking as he stares at a sleeping Mioko... probably that he needs to wee again!

Everytime I think of the pug dog it brings back memories from watching men in black, it was the first time i had seen a pug, and I was like whats that dog called with the screwed up face. haha. and now after all these years i showed my kids men in black and they now want a talking pug. what does a guy do?
Nicely inked up my friend it looks well cool and fresh, I have tried inking before and it doesn't come easy to me, i am just better with pencil and paper. :)

I get the same flashback when i see a pug, I wonder if it's going to talk any second or start singing I will Survive - good old Frank!

Agent F, haha or who let the dogs out hahaha. brilliant film, i am a fan of all 3 men in black films, I think that they should do another one. fingers crossed

Wow I love the drawing you did is very beautiful the dog, i feel like his eyes spread love and kindness, is an excellent job! Thank you for sharing

He does have big eyes- he draws you in with them!

That puppy looks innocent. Love the background pattern tho.

Well innocent until it urinates everywhere, Mioko had better walk it fast!

The reflection in the dog's eyes make his look so expressive - excelent job!

Thanks @nedy - I'm not sure what the dog is trying to express, maybe he needs to urinate again!

Yes, very possible, a dog can hide his real intentions behind an innocent look

Wau! eres todo un artista me encanto mucho tu interpretación del libro cada detalle que le diste al dibujar al pug es magnífico muchas felicitaciones :)r

Glad you enjoyed my visual interpretation of the novel @ozorio!

how cute 😍 nice drawing 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello Opheliafu good night, I like, this very cute puppy, good job.

Do you want me resteem your post to over 72,500 followers? Go here: https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Waaaww... Nice "gung gung"...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63571.79
ETH 3068.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97