Eggs Beneath -ink drawing

in #art6 years ago (edited)

EggsbTH.jpg

Ink drawings

Today, I'm sharing with you one of my recent ink drawings 'Eggs Beneath' from a series of drawings I have created called 'Strange Creatures'. In this series the paper is prepared with ink marks and water and ink washes, to create monochrome surfaces of pattern before a dip pen is used to create a line drawing. If you look closely at the finished piece you may spot the oval shapes of some eggs beneath the earth, the oval effect was created by scoring in the paper with a scalpel before layers of ink and water were added.

scalpel.jpg

An important part of my practice as an artist is experimentation with materials. I dedicate time to trying out new materials or techniques, and expand my approaches to drawing. This year I've been using a lot of black ink to create my drawings, this really started to be the main medium I was working with when I was creating the illustrations for Doug Karr's novel Dwelling. It is a medium I continue to return to as I explore the relationship between the wet medium of ink and the surface qualities of the papers.

inksplat.png

Preparing the background

inkblot.gif

To create marks on the paper wet tissue was laid across the paper, then ink was applied to the tissue with a brush.
september184.jpg

inksplat.png

penandink.gif

Once the background was dry a dip pen and drawing ink was used to add the image of the legs.
september185.jpg

You can also see where the ink has soaked into the lines created at the beginning of the process with a scalpel, to create the oval egg shape effect.
closeupegg.jpg

3inkmarks.png

Eggs Beneath


EggsbeM2D.jpg

Ink on paper

Part of the 'Strange Creatures' collection.

9inkmarks.png

Redbubble shop

Image uploaded from iOS.jpg
Dwelling available on Amazon

pagefooterM.png

I'm thrilled to announce that DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side, is now available in print and ePub.

Sort:  

Very beautiful ink effect and finished well. Truly amazing artwork, my friend opheliafu

Happy you liked the ink effects @ykdesign :D

my drawing makes me feel my bare feet touching the wet grass :)
I like this feeling. I really like!
congratulations

The weather is turning cold here now, so I think it will be another 8 months before I'm walking around outside with my shoes off.

I like this idea of scoring the paper first. It's like having 'easter eggs' (pun intended) hidden for us to find.

Congrats on the book now being published! I'll have to check it out!

It's always a bit of surprise for me too - as the results can be unpredictable.

I can't draw, paint or anything near like that, but I love the story behind your drawing and love the drawing ofcourse too !!

That is very kind, i'm glad you enjoyed the story of how i created this piece.

❤ Thank you for your kindness..... ! 😉

very nice art

Beautiful watercolor painting! You are such sn inspiration

Glad you like it, thank you

The pleasure is mine 😍

You are sure one of the masters of this 'art', i wish and hope i meet some1 like you to fine tune me

I would like to say that you are a good artist. very nice art work.All the best my friend.

So cool! The process is fascinating :D

To me this is really deep. That ink makes it look a little mysterious which I love. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69