Figure in Window

in #art6 years ago (edited)

figureTH.jpg

A trick of the light

Looking out my window this morning I saw what looked like a figure standing in a window in one of the buildings across the street. As I focused my gaze I realised that it wasn't a figure but a trick of the light against some objects that had been stacked together, their forms casting shadows that resembled that of a person.

IMG_20180219_114429.jpg

I picked up the stack of post-it notes on the desk next to me and made a quick pencil sketch of the objects, creating a figurative form with the shadows.
IMG_20180219_094159.jpg

I used the post-it note drawing as the inspiration for my first drawing of the day.
Feb1812.jpg

Coffee painting

When I was observing the 'figure' in the window I noticed it was tinted beige and brown, indicating that it was actually made from stacked cardboard boxes.
I was going to use brown watercolours for the colours of the figure, but as I sat sipping my morning coffee I had another idea. I got some coffee granules from the pantry and put them into a dish. I then used a damp paintbrush to turn the granules into a brown liquid to paint with, providing the perfect shade of brown for my figure.

Feb1813.jpg

Black ink

The next stage was to add the darker tones to suggest the shadows, for this I used black drawing ink applied with a paintbrush.

Feb1814.jpg

Close-up details

Feb1815.jpg

'Figure in Window'

IMG_20180219_101324.jpg

Drawing ink and coffee on paper

Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

The cup of coffee is the faithful companion of our emotions and motivates our creativity, it makes us shine allowing us to see other things that others are unaware of seeing, congratulations you are very creative when using coffee beans to color your work that by the way is very original and beautiful.
I wish you a prosperous week dear friend @ opheliafu /

I do like my coffee - but as a follower of my posts you know that already! ;D

muy bien esa pintura ... saludos

A great interpretation of your original sketch on the post it.

I Love painting with coffee and tea. It has such warmth (literally and tonally) Good job!

good post,,,very nice photography,,,my bear dost @opheliafu,,

Wow!! It's really a different element for drawing. Ink and Coffee. And you done a great job with this element. Excellent creativity. Thank you for sharing the different and amazing painting.

Glad you liked that combination!

Hi..i bring you wintry peace lols
I came looking for you to show you this...what do you think of this project?
https://steemit.com/steemph/@immarojas/in-support-of-steemit-philippines-a-walk-of-hope-project-with-flabbergast-art

a very meaningful picture. also a creative process of creation. gave birth to artistic work.

Spectacular work One of the things that happens to me when painting is that light is the only thing we can see. It is not an object, it is not a color, it is not a perspective nor is it a form. We can only see rays of light, reflected from a surface and distorted by the properties of that surface and our eyes. What we see in our heads, a frame of an endless video, is the set of rays that reach our retina at that moment. This image can be distorted by the difference between the properties of each ray. The rays come from different directions and travel different distances, they may have bounced on many objects before reaching our eyes. It was what happened to you with the boxes, congratulations very, very good job, I love it.

Hello @opheliafu
Spectacular close-up details. Congrats!

That was such a creative thing to use as inspiration. And you managed it so quickly, on such a small medium. You are an inspiration.

creativity ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61410.76
ETH 2867.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61