Red Circle Tree

in #art6 years ago (edited)

redcircletreeTH.jpg

The red circle

Red circles often feature in my work, and today's ink drawing is no exception. The drawing was created by experimenting with red and black inks, and by adding salt.

May 20189.jpg

The shape of the tree in the image was decided by the flow of ink and water as it was poured down the paper and gently manipulated by a brush to branch out.
May 201810.jpg

The paper was turned and twisted to encourage the ink droplet to run down the paper, creating the shape of the tree.
redcircletree.gif

3inkmarks.png

redcircle.png

The layers of ink applied over salt creates a beautiful mottled effect across the red circle when the larger salt crystals have been removed. The rings around the edge of the red circle were created as the water and ink seeped under the circular mask, I also used my fingers to grind in the tiny particles of dried ink and salt in a circular motion to create a subtle outer ring of colour.
redcircletreebrd.jpg

inksplat.png

Red Circle Tree

redcircletreeM.jpg

Inks and salt on paper

Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

Interesting artwork!....:)...

beeeutiful @opheliafu! that image with just the concentric circles is a universe in itself.

Thank you@natureofbeing - though it isn't as beautiful as an oxidised glaze IMO

Very zen, I always loved sprinkling salt on watercolor and watching the grains bloom.

Yes i'm so drawn to the simplicity of those black lines that I may take up Ikebana next :D

Clever idea and amazing realization, why don't you join our Slothicorn community? Would be great to have you among us! Ciao

That sounds like a fun community

If you want to join our Discord channel here it is the invitation link: https://discord.gg/NAzPvMU

Looking forward to meeting you there! :)

Great impression and showing of the process. I also use salt on my painting, watercolors most of the time and I am so impressed as to how my work reacts to it. Next time I will try to use bubbles as well to add a fairytale like effect.

It does create such a lovely effect doesn't it, and what fun to reveal what is has created once dry.

Red is a beautiful color though it signify good and bad that is to say red sometimes signify love and affection and sometimes it signify danger

I wonder what is signifies to you in this image.

I love the effect that created the salt. it looks cool. in some of my pictures I tried it. :) A wonderful drawing I think is simple and meaningful!

I go through phases of using it, more often with watercolours than inks.

art that is so incredible, that can be like this only people with high instinct. I really like this art, thank you for sharing.

That's nice. Almost looks a bit Zen/oriental.

Great job! Very clever and creative. Keep it up and thanks for inspiring us all! All the best in everything you do!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14