Rock Face

in #art6 years ago

rockfaceTH.jpg

Daunting

There are times when obstacles are put in our way, some seem unscalable like a sheer rock face. However, if you want to see the view from the top you've got to learn to climb, find those crevices in the rock face and start to ascend.

3inkmarks.png

Creating the drawing 'Rock Face'

I created the background for my drawing using watercolours and black ink. Once the background was dry I started to add the figures using drawing ink and my dip pen.

New folder21.jpg

Below are some of the doodles on my drawing board where I practised drawing the figures for my image.

New folder22.jpg

Finally, I added white water-based paints to the center of the figures and some final outlines of black ink.

New folder23.jpg

rockfaceboard.jpg

1inkmarks.png

'Rock Face'

rockfaceM.jpg

Ink and watercolour on paper

Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

This is really a powerful piece. The rockface seems to loom upon the figures.

Thank you. I start by creating the backgrounds for these pieces without an idea of what the image will become. Once the paints and inks have dried I look for shapes within the surface of the paints, on this piece I saw the shape of the mountain and what looked like a sheer rock face.

You are so good at this! Your abstracts and watercolor pieces are one of my favorites here!

Great to get that feedback, thank you @christianyocte

You deserve such words. 😍😍

Interesting technique. I thought it was a photograph before I read the rest of the post.

I never considered that quality about it - cool. Looking at it with fresh eyes now.

Love it! Upvoted & Resteem'd!

Follow @memecrusader to blow off some Steem!

its really amazing rock face and everything its painting perfect great job
keep it up thank you

I like this your technics, Ophelia!

Damn I love dark paintings as well as brightest ones. They make me really wonder and analize things. Also incredible work with the texture, I'm still confused how you achieved it haha, looks a lot like realistic rocks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61275.32
ETH 2983.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76