Smeared mountains- starting a painting

in #art6 years ago

september1812TH.jpg

Climbing mountains

I'm sharing with a the progress of a painting I'm currently working on. The subject of the painting that I'm focusing on at this stage is a mountain. To the left of the image the mountain is green, but on the right it sharply cuts away to black and red.

september1810.jpg

The initial stages of creating this work involved masking off areas of the canvas, then applying layers of acrylic paint and gloss medium.

Messy mark making

september1811.jpg

Paint was applied to the canvas using a brush, palette knife and smearing. Acrylic paint was rubbed in along the raised edges of the dried acrylic gloss medium to create areas of textured colour.
september1812.jpg

A work in progress

When the initial layers of paint have dried it will be time to uncover the masked off areas and add more definition and details.

MountainsP.jpg

What do you think so far?

Redbubble shop

Image uploaded from iOS.jpg
Dwelling available on Amazon

pagefooterL.png

I'm thrilled to announce that DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side, is now available in print and ePub.

Sort:  

@opheliafu thank you very much dear friend for letting us know the beginning of a promising work, I really like the selected colors
I wish you a great day

I have some interesting plans for this piece, it will be fun to share the progress.

I like that you share the advance of your painting, @opheliafu, so we can appreciate the whole process and learn from it. With the color palette you're using, the mountain has not only depth but also height. I can imagine, by that trace of white, a game with the shadow. Already the drawing has flight! Greetings

It is a very interesting work in my opinion, also is something refreshing as all your works are digital arts! Is it like a way to give others a chance? Or at least so I see it in any way thanks for sharing:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63035.00
ETH 3022.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82