A tad bit of optimism

in #art5 years ago (edited)

So one thing is for certain, life bears the unaware and closed off no mercy.

I was unaware while I waited for you to arrive. I was closed off to your ideas once you got here. Now I am alone again and feeling withdrawn from any activity at all. Life is not merciful. Not today at least. I can not see this any other way. My head hands low as I sip my last bit of coffee. Eyes are heavy and sleep sounds like a reasonable alternative. I look to my right out of a small window looking for your car to pull back into the drive. I never comes. Why do I care. If the ceiling caved in and I was immediately covered in ice cold water, my emotion would remain undisturbed.

I move from my place at the kitchen table, toward the back door.

I rub my eyes and take one final step until I am standing in front of the rear door to my home. I raise my head to hesitantly peer out into the bright backyard. I see nothing butt unfinished projects and the burden of facing them alone. Before I could fall back into the weight of my insatiable thoughts of worry, I hear a triumphant tone. I immediately tense my shoulders back, squinting outward and upward. The subtle awareness of my surroundings begins to take shape. I continue to scan the warm exterior environment for the composer of this tune. While gently rubbing the back of my head with a single left hand, and pretending not to give a damn, I spot the culprit of my distractions.

My blurred vision suddenly clears and I am filled with childhood like excitement. Somehow I find myself outdoors, being warmed by the sun, hopeful and not alone. I am comforted by this musical show. The little bird perched before me in the bottom most branch of a scraggly oak, has lifted my spirit. A tad bit of optimism that life is not all that bad, reenters my being. I think I’ll go get a shower now.

1411C25C-BC5D-4D2B-BE90-5C32FF423199.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67