Future Shanghai Concept art breakdown

in #art7 years ago

1.jpg

Shanghai... but fuuuuture :O

Hey guys, I've been sharing a few things with you over the past few days but I thought it would be nice to show part of my major project I'm working on at the moment. This is some concept art I've been working on over the last few days. I used a lot of techniques from John Sweeney and Maciej Kuciara's Gumroad tutorials on Environment design. I was very inspired by 2017's Ghost in the Shell, and of course Blade Runner. It would take me days to write an article on every step I took to make this, but I will give you an overview. Feel free to comment if you would like me to break down some of the specific areas or techniques.

Step 1: 3D base:

I made this is Maya. I had a rough idea of what I was going for so I just went ahead and made some random polygon cubes and extruded them around a bit to get the impression of a city.
2.jpg
I layed a rough perspective grid over top that I used to keep everything in perspective for the rest of the concept.

Step 2: messing around with photos:

All photos I used in this image were either royalty free from https://morguefile.com/, or from photo packs I purchased for commercial use from http://www.photobash.org/. The idea for me was to try and establish some mood. The open area on the left is due to a future crop I made.
3.jpg

Step 3: The awkward phase...

The bit I don't want you to see. The cringe as I go back through my layers... I'll endearingly refer to it as the experimentation phase. I'm scribbling and messing around and trying out ideas without worrying about details.
4.jpg

Step 4: Cringe phase part 2:

You know the drill, still messy, but starting to refine some of those buildings. I went back into Maya and remodeled that overpass as I didn't want to plot it out in perspective. I'm really experimenting with light now and trying to gauge the atmosphere and light bleed.
5.jpg

Skip, hop and a jump and we're done! I'll give you a couple of close ups.

1.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

Hope you enjoyed guys. Stay tuned for more!

Sort:  

Dudeee. This is awesome and I would love to seee more ;) keep up

Great work, you could work on next blade runner movie ;)

@mitchhunter The highest praise, thank you! My dream is certainly to work on a project like that one day. just have to practice, grind and meet the right people :)

Art is a funny thing as it comes from someone's mind, and very much the soul. You've shown how you accomplished your art and stuck with it (good you didn't do much of the 'hows' but the end result is something very interesting indeed. Remember art is in the eye of the beholder, regardless of what you created. I like the finished result. Thank you

Cool :) Interesting process. I actually kinda like the one you thought was cringey :D Looks like a piece of art in itself. I JUST watched Ghost in the Shell a couple days ago for the first time. I really liked it!

Ghost in the Shell is one great looking movie! Thanks for the feedback :)

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @peterhenderson to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Really dope awesome work !, I do think that the bride with the cars deserves some more details.

Congratulations @peterhenderson! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

The blocky head hologram is a really nice touch, Great job!

Congratulations @peterhenderson! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48