Pen and ink drawing: Two Trees

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I love drawing in ink. I can't be bothered with sketching things out with pencil and carefully inking it afterwards. I like to jump straight in with a pen and see where it takes me.

One of my favourite subjects is trees so it's not a surprise that I found myself doodling a tree tonight. It was a bit of a surprise when I did a second one straight afterwards though.

Both were drawn with a Lamy Safari fountain pen on 200gsm cartridge paper.

This week I'll be drawing a tree a day - if you like trees drawn in ink, feel free to follow me! :)

tree_doodle_1.jpg
tree_doodle_2.jpg

Sort:  

U ever tried to use different kind of shading? thicker lines /smaller lines or even dots? I think trees as a motive for trying out different shading would be a good one! :)

Sure - you can see that in the oak (2nd sketch) I used stippling to add texture to the trunk of the tree and it has strong line weight to emphasise the mass and shadow of the trunk. Trees with lighter barks would certainly benefit from a more delicate treatment (e.g. finer lines) such as Silver Birch.

With the fountain pen I was using, there's a limit to the line-weight range available - it's not a very flexible nib and the drawings were only about 8cm x 8cm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59