Current Art Project

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi Friends

I have been posting a lot less frequently, which feels kind of funny. I feel a bit out of loop. I hit a bit of an exhaustion point, which luckily coincided with that time that Steemit broke (remember that?) 😂.

Life has been asking a lot of me, so I am mostly making sure that everything gets at least a little bit of my time. Taking care of my well being is also a high priority in that regard.

I wanted to document one of my current projects, which is drawing these creatures. It's a project where I put work in every now and then - when time and motivation are available. I have been honing in on this style for years actually without knowing it. I feel that it is finally starting to reveal its self.

My Goals for the Project

  • Develop my unique style and find its fuller expressions
  • Work these drawings and concepts into sell-able art
  • Use the art process to connect with different realms and dimensions

1 - Lion/Tiger King

In the drawing phase I imagined this as a lion, yet when I moved to doing the outlines in black it became more of a tiger. It got me thinking about the 'fill regions' and how I didn't like that much solid black. Moving into the next drawings I wanting to retain a lot of empty spaces. Overall I really like the feeling of this one, there are some nice shapes and it keeps to its modular blocky design.
Visual1.jpg

2 - Baby Hawk

This is not as strong a drawing as the tiger, but some interesting developments were made. I enjoyed experimenting with the pattern work, and also the idea that each block piece has a kind of border of space inside it. The rectangle with two curved corners is a shape I continually use. In this piece I rotated it 45 degrees and am quite happy with how it looks - it could be used as a fish scale or a birds feather, or perhaps a flame rising.

Visual2.jpg

3 - Owl Shaman

This drawing is loosely based off a dream that I had, where I saw an owl land on the window sill in my bedroom. It was a strong experience so I wanted to honor it by creating something. I quite like taking up the entire shape and size of the page. Making this one single 'tablet'. I more and more get the sense that these images are made for some kind of carving or tablet.

Visual3.jpg

4 - Jackal Beta

I have been sensing a connection with the Egyption god Anubis - AKA the jackal headed god. So I feel the need to explore the imagery. It kind of makes sense with this style, to be coming up with material which might be found scribed into stone blocks. It was a good effort but overall I was unsatisfied with it, I now know why. Because a short while later I came up with an even better Anubis drawing, one that felt inspired and I was genuinely happy with.

Visual4.jpg

5 - Hawk with Detail

I enjoyed this picture and decided to go a bit further with the patterning. The effect looks nice, a but busier and more dense - pulls the whole thing together a bit more. Perhaps less usable to be scanned and broken down in various ways. This is a good potential for a direction I can go with this style.

Visual5.jpg

6 - Anubis on Throne

I am really happy with this one, and since taking these pictures have put some black lines in and erased my guide. It just feels to have a good balance and composition. It's consistent with the style and takes up the whole 'tablet' nicely.

visual6.jpg

Thoughts on My Process

I feel quite inspired right now looking at the progression. I want to keep working on the style to see how awesome it can become. For me it is important to put a good energy into the work, so it's about keeping myself in a good vibration and using the art work as a transmission to share that. I think that can deeper further, as I deepen into my own awareness and spiritual aspects.

  • I think that I have quite a few potential outputs for what I can turn these into. I want to put together a small coloring in book to give to some nieces of mine for Christmas.

  • One ultimate goal is to create a tarot deck or similar. I feel that this will come in due time, but I don't want to start a project like that without the intuitive nudge that it is the right time. That kind of project is very much about conveying an energy and consciousness, so I don't want to go into it too casually. We want a powerful high vibrational deck right? 😁

  • I am also excited to go back to painting something like this on large scale pieces of wood.

I have experimented with doing wood carvings using a dremel tool, it worked quite well on a very small scale. I expect large wood carvings would be a huge amount of work. I have considered taking the digital drawing and perhaps getting it laser cut. I wonder if that would be a cost effective methods for making cool wood 'tablets'?

Just a bit of insight into my process, thanks for stopping by.
Namaste

my banner.jpg

tribe-steemup-banner3.png

Sort:  

Hello @phillyc, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01