Past Comic Con Memories | ULOG #FIFTEENsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)


This gal was modeling at a small Comic Convention a few years back. She was much prettier than I drew her. My teacher at the time organized a space on the convention floor where we could all draw the models. It was an effort to get some students into the school. I don't know if anyone joined, but I suspect that most who wandered by didn't know what they were looking at or missing.

The drawing was done as a 20 minute pose after warm-ups. It's a little weird to draw with that many people looking over your shoulder and shuffling past.

I teach drawing and painting now myself, but from the comfort of my own home. Technology has made it possible that you can learn(and teach) at your convenience. I record videos of critiques and demos then upload them to the school server.

However, this places more responsibility on students. The onus is on them to practice and get better. Actually that has always been the way, the good ones know it.

Currently, I wish I had more students. That's been the big drawback to the teaching, the numbers. Also, I'm not a 'name' artist. So students who end up in my class likely wound up there by luck rather than seeking me out.

Here's my material list:

Ritmo Charcoal(which you can no longer buy on Amazon) on Smooth Newsprint. I need to change up some of my materials.

Since the image map got rejected, I'm going to try with this nested table of social media icons. Let's see if this works.

I wonder if I need to upload from the Elegance.blue website for this to work. I may do that for the one. But the convenience of uploading from my own server is unbeatable.

Thanks
@PixelColada

Steemit Steem dLive SteepShot DTube Gab Minds
ArtStation Patreon YouTube Behance Facebook Instagram
 

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://www.pixelcolada.com/2018/06/10/past-comic-con-memories-ulog-fifteen/
Sort:  

indeed, what draws most persons away from street portraits is the lack of privacy, but once you're able to control your drawing process that much as to not notice the people around you, then you can say you master it :)

I tend to think of most forms of art as performance, so I dont get rattled as easily anymore. Any drawing or painting done in public or in class as demonstration is just the residual by-product of that performance.

This is insanely good, given the fact that you drew this quickly and with heaps of people around you! It should be intimidating, feeling all those curious looks :o

Thanks man. True intimidation is when you're drawing with professional artists who are your heroes. That's really nerve wracking.

Oh I don't even want to think about it 😐 sounds scary

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @pixelcolada! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you! Much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62177.56
ETH 2918.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66