Doodle with charcoal!

in #art6 years ago

Good day my fellow Steemians!


The normal week has started and Easter is now behind us! I can't see eggs anymore! The scent alone will make me.... I dunno,,, Something! I had a great weekend and now I am ready to tackle the new week!


I have been learning more and more about the use of charcoal but trying things out for yourself is in my opinion always the best way. You can watch videos and read all the books but doing it is the best way! So, I wanted to doodle with charcoal and I have to say I freaking LOVE it!


9.jpg


I am also getting used to the feeling on my fingers when I use them on the charcoal. While I at first got annoyed with the dry feeling I can handle it now for a longer time without washing my hands.


Here are the progress pictures




1.jpg


I am so thankful that my sweet MOM send me this box! I never thought I would enjoy charcoal so much! I have already been looking online to but some more supplies and to create more and more of these doodles! I even wonder if I finally found my niche...


2.jpg


Here you see the sketch... Well you have to look very good to spot the few lines! I used a normal pencil to do this part. A soft pencil B.


3.jpg


4.jpg


5.jpg


On these first pictures you see that it did not really came alive. That made me wonder if I should add more black. For the outlines I used natural charcoal! This is softer and you can wipe it more easy on the paper. So, to darken things up I used the pressed charcoal and I think I made the right choice! The shapes started to look better right away!


6.jpg


7.jpg


8.jpg


I took a small break of 20 minutes before I went back and finished the drawing! In total I have been woring on this for two and half hour. Most of the time went into thinking! I am really pleased with the outcome!


9.jpg


Have you ever worked with charcoal? Maybe you have some tips? I am always willing to learn more!


Thank you for reading my post!


Best wishes
@poeticsnake

Sort:  

It’s pretty cool! What were you thinking of when you made it?
I have a huge box of charcoal from the time I had to draw nudes. These days I use charcoal on canvas for the underdrawings, because it’s easy to erase :)

I was thinking about clouds. No idea why though because it was a grey day here in the Netherlands!
Yes, I find it easy to erase as well. I might start using it for sketching as well
xxx
snekky

Test: You got a 25.00% upvote from @jga courtesy of @guyfawkes4-20!

WOW!!!!!!!!!!
Amazing artwork,i appreciate your art and thinking,i think you will be a great artist in future

Thank you ever so kindly!
I am hoping the same :D
Have yourself a slithering fine day!
xxx
snekky

Hi @poeticsnake! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Protip: you can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit payout - click here to learn more :).

hiii my lovely friend @poeticsnake... Good evening.
great artistic work as using charcoal for drawing. always appreciated you for your natural talent.

Thank you so much for your always nice words
xxx
snekky

Charcoal is a gorgeous medium, and it's nice seeing your progress work. I have a 'thing' about Black and White work (love it!) so especially enjoying to see what you're doing. More please!

I always love black and white more than color for some reason!
I really enjoy doing this! I think I am in love with it!
xxx
snekky

Charcoal is fun to play with. Cool bubbly look you have going here.

Yes, I really enjoy working with it!
Did not expect it though! I always pushed it away!

Excellent your post. Amazing art work, I appreciate your art and thinking, I hope you will be a great artist in future.

Thank you ever so kindly!
xxx
Snekky

This is so pretty beautiful job. :)

Thank you so so so much!
I hope you are doing well!
I always enjoy seeing your creations!
xxx
Snekky

You should be pleased this is a work of art that I like be it has such flow with the lovely curves and shading

I am super pleased with how it turned out!
I am sure I am going to many more of these! :D
Thank you so so much!
xxx
snekky

You should be I really love it my eyes are drawn to follow its curves and it’s very calming to view

I like when charcoal is used in sketching, just my personal opinion. Softer looking and I love how it shades.

Tip!

I have to say that I am loving how it shades as well. It has always been a struggle for me to do shadings and now it almost feels like it goes on its own by just moving your fingers a little bit! I think I am in love with charcoal! LOL

xxx
snekky

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69331.49
ETH 3676.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24