Grants Pass Murals #10

in #art6 years ago

Grants Pass Mural #10


At first I wasn't really sure if this mural could even really be considered a "mural", or if it was actually more of a "sign."  It is painted on the side of an antique store, and seems to be a fairly simple design from afar.  But, after looking at it closer and looking up the artist online, I found that the artist himself refers to it as a "mural" and it's actually pretty cool! 

This mural was painted by John Granacki. He has a couple different websites/blog sites. Here are the two I have found:

And, when I was researching this mural last week I found somewhere it mentioned that there is not only a silhouette shape of an antique record player (easy to see) in the mural, but that the painted brickwork is actually in the shape of an angel.  I never had realized that before, and it makes me like the mural more.

One thing I noticed when I walked up to it (in-person) was that not only is there ivy painted on the wall, but there is actually ivy growing in front of the mural. There is even marks/residue from where some of the ivy was actually growing up the wall onto the mural.  This would usually probably be annoying, but in this case it sort of added to the charm of the mural - that the real ivy turns to painted ivy on the wall.

I'm learning so much about all of these murals in Grants Pass!

Here are the other murals I have posted about:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62