New Work in Progress - Friedrich Remake

in #art5 years ago

Friedrich Piece.jpg

This is raw, but I'm already very excited about it. Every time I see this piece in a history book, I get this incredible feeling about it, and my upset is renewed that it was destroyed in the second world war. In the original, there are tiny little monks walking single-file through the ruins. I'm going to omit them, but add blowing poppies wherever I can.

I realize it's a winter scene, but I think that the significance won't be too altered by season.

I need to look up more about this specific original painting. I don't know what those ruins are, or where they are. I don't know whether this piece was destroyed incidentally in a bombing, or deliberately by nazis, as they destroyed so many historical pieces of art.

Tonight is Belleville-Ville, my monthly improv show at the Monarch Tavern in Toronto, so I may or may not get to work on this piece today. Today, in fact, is the final Belleville-Ville of the 70's. Next year, we start the 1980's. This is the end of an era!

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

The scene looks like a winter, after a war. Anayway, it looks very spooky. I like it.

I'm liking how it's coming along, Rachel ! I look forward to the poppies, for sure :) And yeah, I think it'd probably make a stronger impact if we know more about the original painting.... :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64