3D Modelling | Jack O' Ripper

in #art5 years ago (edited)

Hi, everyone! It's me with my 3D modelling post again. I haven't fully grasp Blender or how to 3D model in general yet, but I am progressing nicely. Sculpting is the one thing that I think is the most terrifying part to learn in 3D modelling for a noob like me. But when you understand even just the basic techniques of how to play around with your digital clay, it becomes a rather joyful process. 

I'm not sure if halloween is over for everyone yet, but here's a scene that I made for the yearly event. Here it is, my best model so far. Among how many? ...3. Yep. 

The pumpkin is based on this logo that I made for @opgaming for halloween, but since it's a bit too late, like this post, the logo wasn't used and I decided to use it as a base for my sculpting practice. 


Jack O' Ripper

I started by shaping a simple uv sphere into a normal pumpkin in sculpting. At first I used multiresolution modifier, then I switched to the dynamic topology until I get a good pumpkin shape. 


Then I make it more sinister with the eyes and mouth carvings. It's really hard to get clean edges in sculpting as a beginner. But it does take a lot of patience for the pros as well, or so I heard from one of the best Blender artists, Zacharias Reinhardt. It took a long time to make the face and yet I can't seem to make it look exactly like the reference image. 


Then I give it a nice big thorny scythe, and a hat with the leaf to add more character. Note that these props weren't made in sculpting


I already have a scene I wanted to make in mind, and boy, did that as much of a help as an image reference. I was planning to apply image texture to the tombstone, but I didn't because I wanted to have some fun with texturepainting.


After all the model is finished, I applied the base material first to see what kind of look I'm going for, although I'm not sure if this was necessary. 


Then one step before the final is to paint some parts in texture painting. Watching a tutorial where it showed me how to make the illusion of cracks and crevices that don't look like flat colours really excites me. I'm sure you can see a lot of rooms for improvement here, but everyone has to start somewhere, right? And this is where I start. 


I tilted the tombstone and the pumpkin for a more stylish view rather than simple straight front view. Again, I think I really need to git gud in lighting the most. But then again I need to git gud in everything the most.

The end result isn't as dramatic as I expected it to be, because I find myself stuck in the lighting process that plays a big role if you want to make such a scene. Also, by the end of the process I realized that it's a bit strange that not even a year has passed since I died, but my tombstone looks old, cracked and mossy already.

This might be the first render of a model I sculpted, but this is not the first sculpting I've done, this is the second. I finished this first because I wanted to post it on halloween, although it's probably too late now, which is succ. I think I'll post my first sculpting tomorrow. 

Anyway, what do you think? If you have any tips and/or critiques let me know in the comment. Just don't be so rough on me, senpai. 




Click the icons below to join some of the best Steemit gaming community on Discord, OP Gaming and Archdruid Gaming Community, where you can meet and hang out with awesome fellow gamers, help each other grow on Steemit, and of course game together.

                  


©2018 Adam Rainite Lawsone
Sort:  

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Ah sorry. I clicked "follow" twice already (this is the third time), crappy internet. And thanks for letting me know!

Hi there,

We did notice that your are a real Artist. Do you want to share with others your great artworks and earn handsome rewards?

We are pleased to invite you to join Artisteem.

Artisteem is a platform, where you can contribute your artworks and earn the great reward. You even can have a chance to get an awesome prize if you participate in the contest and make it to the top.

For more information about Artisteem, you can find out here:

Don’t hesitate to contact us via discord channel to make friends and discuss further information.
We are looking forward to seeing more posts from you in the future.
Thank you and regards,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93