Chickenosaurus (WIP)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Gallus gallus domesticus Theropoda!

The Balloon is Finished

I added layers of color to ropes, outlined with complementary colors, yellow outlined with purple, blue outlined with orange, and so on...blended in the colors, outlined in black . I then whet over everything with white gouache for kind of a ghost white outline. I finished up by adding some stars, they just kinda happened when I thought I was finished. I thought the blue was dark enough to support stars and I like that last minute idea turned out.

I will be working my way down, finishing up the girl and her basket and hopefully finishing the Chickensaurus before this coming Friday.

18 x 24inch pen and ink, watercolor and gouache

My Grandson loves the balloons and told me the ropes turned out perfect! He said, "better than what you had before." I told him as I tell everyone, don't judge my second layer, I have one more layer to go...hahaha

How birds evolved from dinosaurs.n the 1990s, an influx of new dinosaur fossils from China revealed a feathery surprise. Though many of these fossils lacked wings, they had a panoply of plumage, from fuzzy bristles to fully articulated quills. The discovery of these new intermediary species, which filled in the spotty fossil record, triggered a change in how paleontologists conceived of the dinosaur-to-bird transition. Feathers once thought unique to birds, must have evolved in dinosaurs long before birds developed. The dinosaur and the gravity paradox.

Prisma color pencil on mixed media paper, 2014


Can We Grow A Chicken As Big As A Dinosaur?

WIP One

WIP Two

WIP Three

WIP Four


some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

@reddust,
Oh my dear friend! This is an amazing artwork! I have no words to express my feeling about this artwork!

Cheers~

Brilliant, great piece of art! Luv the girls smile. Seems like Chikenosaurus is in awe of her smile too :D

very good painting my friend the colors are very beautiful You are very meticulous in painting an object and your painting is really extraordinary and have a very beautiful color @ reddust.dan the color combination is really beautiful You are very great in the business of painting my friend Success always for you and Hope you are healthy always and can move as usual

Thank you @pengenkaya, I do love detail and working with color. I just got back from my evening walk, I wish you and yours the best of health.

This is quite good. Love it in fact. I suspect you'll mesmerize your grandkids and move them to become artists too. Many blessings.

I inspire them to get their paint sets out and paint with me. That's how I learned how to draw, my Mom was an artist. She didn't teach me, I watched and copied her...This is how I am teaching my Grandkids.

What did you use to make the rope twists? A black micro pen?
You could have done it with a brush...
I just can't quite tell what color the lines are.
Did you shade the ropes after the lines, or before?

What are the two colors you used on the yellow rope?

I agree that the stars worked out lovely!
Very very nice.

I wanna ride too!

I used Pigma colored brush pens. I used Hanza yellow and orange, with purple outline for shadowing, I outlined with the pen brush and went over the whole thing with very tiny 000 brush with zinc white gouache. I shaded the ropes before I outlined with my Pigma brush pen and added the white gouache for highlights.

We can go for a ride together, I have another rooster who gets along with mine. Most of the time you can't put two roosters together because all the want to do is fight...Thank goodness the Chickensauras is smarter than our domesticated chickens...

WOW.........just wow!
I was not here during the weekend and this is my first update of the picture in almost 4 days. Can't believe the colors make it look so alive............almost could see it being made :-)

This has been a blast and I must confess I used some of my new watercolors on the ropes. They are soooo nice...hahaha

Thank you @hashcash

a beautifully painted artwork @reddust. very fascinating with its colors and very beautiful painting techniques You are great in the field of painting my love because all your paintings look very beautiful and Natural Success always for you

You are so amazing good. I love and admire you drawings. You are so so talent😍

You're welcome! It's as wonderful as you make those drawings that make drawing seem easy. You are incredible ... Happy night😊💙

Dear @reddust, You nicely created her emotional effect from this drawing. Wonderful creativity and meaningful art work.

wow Many beautiful chickens have been taken into the pictureDQmQhdx5UFF9R2UcxEH2aXbw1427tdQu4S6gtC795cxHDMJ.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55