"American God's " Fanart (WIP) Mr. Wednesday

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Odin's Ravens, "Hugin and Munin"

American Gods

Two ravens sit on his (Odin’s) shoulders

and whisper all the news which they see

and hear into his ear; they are called

Huginn and Muninn. He sends them out

in the morning to fly around the whole

world, and by breakfast they are back

again. Thus, he finds out many new things and

this is why he is called ‘raven-god’ (hrafnaguð).

Snorri’s main source for this passage seems to be an evocative stanza in the Eddic poem Grímnismál, in which Odin says:

Hugin and Munin

Fly every day

Over all the world;

I worry for Hugin

That he might not return,

But I worry more for Munin.

Odin's Ravens

22 x 19 inches, 190lb watercolor paper, watercolor and gouache.

I am a day behind with this painting because I transferred my old photograph albums to my new computer. I kinda got lost in the past, all the memories living in Chicago. I will be posting an article a week regarding Chicago, my Oregon Gardens, and the beautiful scenery of Oregon. I have so many lovely photographs!

Today I worked on Odin's ravens. I thought they were crows, that tells you how much I know about the father of all gods and Norse Mythology. I read a little bit about Odin everyday so I can put a little of the knowledge I glean into the feeling of the painting.

Odin in ancient drawings looks like Gandalf from Tolkien's books the "Hobbit and Lord Of the Rings." Some of the names in the old text remind me Tolkien's work as well.

I woke up at 5:30am ready to go and now I need a nap. I will see you all on the other side of my nap!

Odin the Master of Ecstasy

Sketch and Story

I started with an eye!

Second Layer

some_text A link to My Blog

Sort:  

The results on the ravens seem very good so far ! His hands look pretty creepy but I know you hate painting hands and you'll do it at the end only :D

I work on them tonight after my nap :p lolol

Good to know, these hands are creeping me out :D

very good work. And great the expression of the person!!!

I will adjust the mouth a little before I finish and add even more shadow to the left side of the face. In the photo there is a hint of a smile and I want to catch it! Thank you @elfrances185!

Looks like the second season has ended, so now I can only prolong my excitement by watching your amazing works! :d

Yeah, it's ended, I love, love, love the the color and shadow used in the movie, it is very artfully done. I can't wait for next season! I'm really enjoying reading about Odin as well. I will include all the interesting tidbits I find with my posts.

Seems like you are a big fan of "American Gods"

I like the series but I really love mythology and the greatest adventure finding out who I really am....

Great Effort you have put into this i have seen your progess on this truly marvellous

So nice to see your art very nice Resteemed.

@steemphotography, thank you for the resteemed and supporting my little project with your time.

amazing work of art truly the best @reddust

This looks so Original great art you are amazing.

Awesome Paintings, You are awesome @reddust.

I love the series, i love art. Combo amazing :)

@zoef, thank you, I love art as well, it's been my best friend science I learned how to hold a crayon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69273.41
ETH 3681.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20