Doodle Contest Week 3 | Food & Drinks - My Entry (that did not make it)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

It is time again to submit my entry for the weekly doodle contest hosted by @coloringiship and the chosen theme of the week was Food & Drinks. Unfortunately (and also, sadly), I ran out of time and could not complete my painting before the deadline. 😭

My (supposed) Entry

1.JPG

This time around, my idea was inspired by everything Italian. I love Italian cuisine and I enjoy cooking Italian food at home. What I love most about Italian food is its simplicity and versatility. Using only minimal ingredients, one is well on its way to create something mouth-watering and flavourful that is truly art on a plate. I can easily live on pasta daily, with different variations every single day.

Essential ingredients and iconic dishes…

For my doodle this week, I want to feature the basic yet important ingredients used in preparing an Italian meal, as well as the prominent dishes we are all familiar with that are possibly, our favourites too. In the doodle itself, I list down what these ingredients and dishes are.

The Process

In my previous entries for week 1 and 2, I had painted using watercolour.

For week 3, however, I plan to try something different (as a matter of fact, it is my first time) and decide to switch to watercolour pencils instead.

As usual, my sketch was done on an A4-sized watercolour paper using a regular 2B pencil.

2_rt.jpeg

Next step is outlining and tracing the lines. I used black marker and black liners - 0.5, 0.4 and 0.2 nibs. Once completed, I erased all the pencil markings.

3_rt.jpeg

And then, it’s filling in the colours with watercolour pencils. I LOVE it! I find that the colours blend easily, there is absolutely zero mess and painting is such a breeze. Best of all, there is very minimal clean-up thereafter because I no longer need to clean the palette! Yes, good on days when I am lazy but still want to paint.

4_rt.jpeg

For the finishing, I used 0.4-nibbed black liner to write down the list of ingredients and dishes.

My masterpiece of the week!

5_rt.jpeg

Don’t you want to sink your teeth into something Italian already? I hope this looks visually appetising.

Thank you @coloringiship for organising this contest. My entry doesn’t count this time but it’s okay, I’ll definitely be back for the next one!

Sort:  

This is really nice @redtomato but too bad it's too late 😕

Thank you @coloringiship. I found time only in the last minute, but still went with it. Didn't want to rush it although the clock was ticking. Maybe it is just me, I'm the type who doesn't like to rush. So yeah, I should work on my speed.

Masterpieces can't be rushed. It wouldn't produce the best result :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64