Colored Pencil Flower

in #art6 years ago

Hello everyone!🎨 I thought I would share a colored pencil drawing that I did. It started as just a sketch of a flower, and then I wanted to color it, and then ended up with a full on drawing. The only bad thing about that is the paper I used. I used light weight sketching paper, and would have had better results with thicker paper.

I used Faber-Castell Polychromos colored pencils on 5.5''x8.5'' Toned Tan 80lb Strathmore sketching paper. I also used Mona Lisa oderless mineral spirits to blend, which is why a stronger paper would have been more ideal, as well as layering. These pencils are pretty good at layering, thicker paper allows for more layering.

I used a reference that I found on pixaby. Pixabay is a great site to find royalty free images.



 
 
 
Here's the process.
 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 
 
 

And the finished product 😊 I was able to get in a decent amount of layers. I did this a while ago. Colored pencil "paintings" can look amazing, but it's probably the most time consuming medium of all of them. There has been a product from Brush and Pencil that is a powder blender. It makes colored pencil work more like pastels. I haven't tried it but I might down the road. This kind of inspires me to bust the colored pencils out, we'll see.

Thanks for looking 😁

Sort:  

Sweet, such a lovely image and great technique. Love the shallow depth of field, works really well and hard to do with colour pencil.

Thank you @niko3d! : ) I would use them more like this but man, even a small drawing like that took forever lol

wow it's beautiful flower, I like your work my friend @renascence

Thank you @huslein.slash! I appreciate you stopping by my post : )

of course my friend @renascence. we much support each other artist.

Good looking flower! Was this done completely with colored pencils?

Thank you @stateofthearts, yep, all colored pencil and blended with Mona Lisa odorless mineral spirits, which I used a synthetic paint brush for.

You are a true creative. Love it. We run a weekly art sharing initiative on steemit. Would love to see some of your artwork shared and your insights for other artists within the community!

Oh thank you! That would be kewl. I saw some of the stuff on your page, there are some very talented artist there!

Thank you we are trying our best to create a way to link artists and creatives here on steemit! https://steemit.com/art/@stateofthearts/state-of-the-arts-premier-art-sharing-on-steemit
Explains our initiative and how to participate

This is almost as beautiful as you! Awesome work!

Nice work! and great that you put the step by step love seeing those! :)

Thank you @allangraves! Yea, I mainly started taking photos while I was drawing to help look at my drawing in a different way so that I can fix mistakes, or check the values. And yea, seeing the process from start to finish is pretty neat too : )

yup, taking photos is a good way of keeping track of it,
have a great weekend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68331.60
ETH 3842.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64