Magical Art: Drawing an optical illusion

in #art7 years ago

Hey there fellow Steemians!

A long time ago my teacher of art showed me this optical illusion and I fell in love with this kind of art.
Since then I wanted to be able to draw such an illusion.

IMG_5616.JPG

So I tried until I got it down. It is a bit tricky to wrap your head around that but once you get it it is so simple.

So lets start with the frame.
Take a pencil and draw a symmetric triangle with all the same sides.
Draw another triangle into the first one but smaller like in the picture.
Draw a third triangle into the second one even smaller this time.
Your result should look like this:

IMG_5605.JPG

Now we do the outline which gives you a better understanding of the triangle.
I would draw that outline with a fine permanentmarker or something you can't erase anymore.

IMG_5606.JPG

We are almost there. Now you draw these two lines according to the picture.

IMG_5608.JPG

Rotate your drawing 120degrees and draw the exact same lines starting from another corner. Rotate again and make the last two lines.
Nice, we are almost there!

IMG_5609.JPG

Now you can erase the frame and start shading some sections to give it a little depth.

IMG_5611.JPG

To make it even more realistic i would take three different colors for the three sides of this object.

IMG_5612.JPG

I usually make the lines a bit thicker with a bigger marker. That way you can hide any imperfections from the coloring.

IMG_5614.JPG

Since I work as a technical engineer I have access to a 3D computer aided design program (CAD). This object is impossible to build, isn't it? So why am I able to make a 3D model out of that?
Let me know in the comments if you know how I did that.

IMG_5600.JPG

Thank you all so much for reading and try to draw this illusion yourself. It is a lot of fun and you may amaze some people with that simple trick.

IMG_5615.JPG

Have a nice day on Steemit and enjoy life!
Cheers
Rheteric

Credits for pictures: Rheteric

Sort:  

This is GREAT! I'm having a go at drawing this right now. Thanks for posting Rheteric

You are welcome!
It is so simple, you can do it in under a minute:) this itself got me reactions as it would be a magic trick:)

keep up the good job friend @rheteric .....
loving to your thoughts.....
upvoted

Thanks for your kind words:)
I appreciate that a lot.
I might revive my magic-content as well:)
I've bought a few new gimmicks to present.
Cheers mate!

Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication !
Great drawing <3

Untitled-1.png

Well said sir!
Thank you for your compliment.
Sure, I'll check your blogs!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67666.95
ETH 3775.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55