Triple Stone wall piece comission

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians,

I hope you're all well. I have something different to my usual pendants to show you today.
I won't mention who this commission was for as they haven't received it yet, in fact they don't even know they are getting anything at all so I don't want to ruin the surprise if they come across this post somehow.

Anyway, the person in question doesn't really wear jewellery but seems to be a fan of my work so I thought I'd try and make them something similar to my pendants but instead it can be for hanging on a wall as art.


It wasn't the most complex of designs but I felt very free in where I could take it as I wasn't limited by it needing a bail (the bit the necklace chain goes through) My only parameters were getting a piece of moonstone, and two pieces of cut Alexandrite into it somewhere, Both being birthstones of the client.

Enough rambling. As always, here's the behind the scenes, finished item shots at the end, enjoy!


How it's made

Step 1
Step 2

Step 3
Step 4

Step 5
Step 6

Step 7
Step 8

Step 9
Step 10

Step 11
Step 12

Finished Piece
Moonstone & Alexandrite wrapped in Copper


Recent piece up for sale: Triple Stone and Silver Pendant



Click here for myEtsy shop

Sort:  

A beautiful piece. whoever is receiving it will be pleased. 😊

Beautiful work! I'm sure your recipient will love it.

Thanks to @anouk.nox, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you, robali123. Upvoted and resteemed!

@ArtTurtle is an upvote bot run by @Artopium dedicated to upvoting your art, music, fashion, video and books. Find out how you can get an upvote for every creative post you make by visitng @ArtTurtle and reading the latest report.

Love your work promoting creativity and talent on Steemit :)

I love it! Whoever is getting it will be one lucky-ducky! And by the way i absolutely love how you have put the instructions on how to make it!♥

Wow the end result is stunning! You have quite the talent to make a piece like that.

I have barely begun to dabble in wire wrapping. This is amazing! I need to find ways to incorporate raw garnets into something interesting. Any suggestions?

oo yeh they lend themselves well to wrapping with all the edges they have. I've not wrapped garnets but i've done pieces like this that work well for that sort of stone. its relatively simple to do, make a thick gauge wire frame then fill the gaps with wire till the stone is held tight. It takes a bit of practice but isnt impossible
il_fullxfull.503517360_6l1d.jpg

I am sure whoever is receiving the surprise will be very happy! I have been curious about how you come up with such unique designs, and even though your sketches reveal a little bit of your thinking, I would love to know how you come up with these new concepts and the techniques you came up with to work with the material :)

I'm not really too sure to be honest! I've always been quite creative and a visual learner. The last year or 2 of my jewellery design is definitely a reflection of my style, or so friends have told me. The most recent pieces i've been doing are normally inspired by the stone i'm working with. the shape, colour, and depending on what it needs to become, pendant, earrings etc all have an influence on where the design goes.

@plushzilla on the question of unique designs, thats something i have always done i think. Its always felt a bit limiting producing the same or very similar designs over and over just because they sell. day to day me would love it if i could make "sellable" items everytime but creative me always overrides, its boring otherwise!

All of your pieces are great and each time I see one I think you cant do a better one but you prove me wrong everytime,
Absolutely love this piece

tip!

ah thanks man, the tip is very kind! More things coming very soon. its been a productive summer so far!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 220 (8/08/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Hi @robali123! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

Check out @tattoodjay blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09