CONSCIOUSNESS? THE "listening tree talks".

in #art6 years ago

Today I received an email from somebody who researching on "Consciousness", a friend of mine told him I might like to take part.
The questions exactly were:
Why are we conscious?
What are we conscious for?

and what follows is my reply. (Thought Steem friends might like to question this also)

listening.jpg

The listening tree. Oil and egg tempera on wood. 60x85cm. Romanie 2017.

First of all I must say that I don´t believe in Consciousness as a quality we posses naturally.
I would say that Consciousness exists, the Universe is Consciousness.
We can only access this through discipline or extreme experiences.

Why are we conscious?
This is a question hard to answer because “Why” and “Consciousness” are two words that rule different dimensions. There is no Why for Consciousness. It is in itself.

Why is it so hard to access? might be closer to what I can answer.

What I call the mask or rational everyday awareness is the filter though which we function as human beings in the world of matter we need to survive in. Consciousness can only reveal itself to us in moments of extreme experiences like birth, death, near death experiences, extreme pain, etc… and Why I think this happens is because the veil fails to function under those conditions and we become the Universe again or Consciousness (however one prefers to call it).
We can also access this though discipline or certain drugs.

Why do we feel so attracted to the state of consciousness? Because it brings meaningfulness and a sense of complete understanding to our existence, . This is something we are astray from usually so when one has this experience, we want more.

When consciousness is accessed through discipline it becomes a state one has the ability to enter when required but doesn´t live constantly in this state.
If one does live in this state permanently (there are many cases of this), it means one is unable to look after ones basic survival needs.

So, I don´t know if this kind of information is of any use for you. I find it hard to answer those questions directly in the way you formulated it because of what I just explained, but may be this also contributes to your research.
If you have any further questions of reflections please ask and I will try to answer, if I´m able,
Best Wishes, Romanie

If you feel you can contribute to this in any way of feel different please comment, I´d love to hear more.

The painting I have posted is one I did in 2017, "The listening tree" Oil and egg tempera on wood. 60x85cm.
Available

To see more of my art you are welcome to visit www.romanie.net

Best Wishes

Sort:  

WHAT IS CONSCIOUSNESS? (ECKHART TOLLE)

My favourite colour combination. I love the movment and form of this one.

Thank you Donna!

Thank you Kathrina!

Hello @romanie, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

thank you!

Beautiful, @romanie ! I love the texture, and your choice of colours is always very fantastical and gorgeous <3 the turquoise blue against your rust and yellow ochre is simply magical <3

The figures caught in the tree's tall stalks are a very strange and enchanting details * ___ *

As for consciousness, I probably need to go away to contemplate it a bit further. But you make very interesting discussion on this topic. I appreciate the way you think about it.

Thank you Veryspider! best wishes !

very interesting painting, Romanie! i liked it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97