WHALEBIRD. painting 2014.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

whalebirdarchivo.jpg

This painting also starts it´s history in the Mischtechnique seminnar I did in Austria in 2014 with Professor Phil Rubinov and Mantra Cora https://www.facebook.com/events/1127975244004354/

you can see the previous post where I go through the painting process of an other of the pieces.
https://steemit.com/artprocess/@romanie/the-charriot-painting-2014

Anyway, this piece doesn´t follow the process I was taught there but I got assistance on it anyway.
I had brought along some panels to paint in the technique I was learning but then I had the impuse at a certain point to just go out and explore as I do many times and be free. I played around with some ink we had around and before I knew it I had this weird creature looking at me.
I was going though a lot of emotional stuff though my visit to Vienna. The city felt very familiar and I felt I had these old memories coming back at me. So this creature felt like an ancient spirit looking at me.

whalebirdproceso1.jpg

When I showed my teacher what I had done he gave me a hand to get the ink fixed on the board so I could continue to layer the image with glazes and build it up.

primer1.jpg

primer2.jpg

Then these are the phases it went through:

whalebirdproceso2.jpg

whlebirdporceso3.jpg

whalebirdproceso7.jpg

whalebirdproceso5.jpg

whalebirdporceso6.jpg

whalebirdproceso8.jpg

Then... it came back to Ibiza with me. I lived with it for a couple of years till the musician Robert Rich https://robertrich.com/ in California fell in love with this painting and wanted it for the cover of his next cd "What we left behind"

I was very happy to have the Whalebird illustrate his work as I feel it is very in tune with the message and mood.

Here are some images of what the cd looks like

13095822_1061804323895036_1650715347924992133_n.jpg

WWLB_v02-1.jpg

WWLB_v02-2.jpg

If you are interested in hearing this cd you can do so at Bandcamp where it can also be purchased.
https://robertrich.bandcamp.com/album/what-we-left-behind-24-bit-96-khz

Best Wishes to you all,
Hope you enjoyed this process.
I very much recommend the course Mantra and Phil will be doing next week in Austria and all of Robert Rich´s discography. I discovered his music back in 1996 when I was still in high school through a label Hearts of Space.
Saludos,
Romanie

www.romanie.net

ps... I also wanted to share Robert Rich´s meaning in this album of his:

"Thank you for the story behind the painting! The Whalebird meshed perfectly with my attachment to crows and ravens, and the dreams that were pulling "What We Left Behind" into a journey on a raven's back, long into the future. It showed me the world without humans, and said "Ravens, wolves and humans have had such a long partnership in the hunt. We are grateful for what you left us, but as you see, we're fine without you. We who eat the dead will never go hungry." Although it sounds quite morbid, it was actually a gentle thought, comforting in its way. The earth without us was lush and green, vibrant with life like the first days, and free of the toxins and concrete we had abandoned."

WHALEBIRDinthemaking.jpg

Sort:  

Hello @romanie, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

That is so cool. Your work is always surprising. I will definitely look him up:)

Thank you. They live in Arizona, so they also give courses in the US.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

interesting painting ! i love the textures in the final image and the stages that it went through is also nicely captured ! quite a journey !

Thank you !

I got worried when I saw the smear at the bird's beak in the first few photos.
This is a great painting.

it all gets to be a part of the painting! :-)

good thing you captured this thing - it looks dangerous!

hahaah! ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58