World Building, Character Concept, Art Story ElementssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

This post is part of a ground works series for a self initiated animated project. The images do not represent final art. It's a way of doing visual development and when ready, 3D models will be created.


Watchers-blue.jpg

Watchers-dark.jpg

These are preliminary sketches of Shinnick. The only thing I knew about them was that I would give them an elongated skull and multiple skin colors. The elongated head is not a look you see very often because it's hard to keep it cool and not awkwardly cartoony. I'm really still not sure about their design. I'll have to keep working on it. I'm just getting stuff out of my head.

Watchers-2.jpg

They are rulers with advanced technology but I also want them to be modest in their ways. I like the idea that they have advanced technology but they are living in harmony with nature instead of destroying it.

Although not main characters, The Shinnick are more than just part of the backdrop for the story. They will be integral in most of the scenes as observers.

Watchers-3.jpg

Watchers-1.jpg

In the time before recorded history...

the Shinnick controlled the whole of the Earth, which was named Daini at that time. They were off world visitors to our planet. Sometimes called the sky people but their means of travel was a mystery.

Their world was called 9471 Anakheim Prime, whether this was another planet, plain of existence or something else entirely was never understood.

With advanced technology they tamed nature and made the people in their image. They taught them many things including knowledge of the three realms of existence, but the people only experiencing the physical realm could not comprehend. The Shinnick looked very much as we do now but stood over us as giants, most between 7 to 12 feet tall including an elongated skull. They were powerfully built and not seen to age.

In actuality they were able to rejuvenate their physical bodies and their queen was set to rule for 10,000 years.

Watchers-gif-1.gif


  • For some people this could be confusing because it's only a piece of a larger puzzle. For those familiar with Sci-fi and fantasy themes it could feel right at home.
  • The Shinnick are an interpretation of the Anunnaki, Gods of the Sumerians, with a big influence from ancient astronaut theory.
  • The story I'm working on here is something like Dragonball Z meets Conan with a lot of other influences.

Thanks for checking out my post. I hope you got something out of it and will Upvote, Follow, Comment and stay tuned for more stuff.

Sort:  

you might be more inspired if you check out Jojo Bizarre Adventure. The show has characters called Stands and I recommend you go check that out.

Yes - I've seen a few episodes. I like It. It's more silly than I plan to do. For tone and fighting I was thinking Dragon Ball, Baki the grappler, Fist of the Northstar, mix.

but I'm going to do it in 3d and see how it goes.

btw that dress does look like Jojo Bizarre Adventure.

does it take forever to draw characters by hand? i feel like you should do manga i mean its black and white cause you simply use pen and its a great way to let out creativity.

I'll be drawing storyboards. At that stage I could try to do it as a short manga. Thank you for the suggestion. I'll try that but I don't know if my art will be good enough.

Do you remember which character has a similar dress?

the fourth Jojo. Jojo Bizarre Adventure part 4 diamond is unbreakable. trust me just by looking at the work you have more individuality than other manga artist. you can try to do short stories/chapters in here i hope that gives you an idea.

Looks great Ronism. I've always been fascinated by Atlantis and love stories about ancient civilizations. What program do you like to create 3d models in? I'll be keeping up with you and look forward to the story when its done.

I used maya some as a student. Then when I needed 3d objects to import into after effects my old employer didn't want to buy anything expensive so I tried modo and blender. Blender is what I use because it does so many things. I'm not a great modeler, I come from a graphic design/motion design background. What I'm working on will be a learning project.

I def wanna see the 3D models posted when you have them ready. These look dope!

Thanks - my plan is to post all the work as I go. Please continue to support if you like it. I was looking at your posts and followed you. I've done motion design at the day-job. Nothing as cool as what you've made.

Thanks bro, I'm following you as well. I know really sure what you call what I make, Ive just become obsessed with making art out of basic shapes and it ends up turning out pretty interesting so I'm trying to perfect that style. I do a little bit of 3D modeling but if you know how to model people and rig them you definitely know more than I do. Looking forward to seeing more.

I have always been interested in ancient civilizations, they give a lot inspiration for concept art.

I think it's the mystery that inspires people to want to make art and tell stories.

What a great storyline. Cool drawing progession as well. Following now :)

Thank you for the follow and support!

That's some interesting story, mate! I always wonder what else is there that we humans can't seem to fathom. I think once we merge with AI it could be the start to opening worlds that we never thought possible.

Thanks! Yea - I've always been into speculative fiction. Anything with a sense of wonder.

Congratulations @ronism, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3881 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $754.02. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @hendrikdegrote valued at 77.81 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ronism to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85