A Painting of a Horizon in a Vague Abstract

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hey guys, I did another random art today. I hope people find it good since I feel a little accomplished about it.

Well for today's post, I did this abstract painting of a horizon with some relaxing colors. Abstract, as said by Google is something that is existing in thought or as an idea but not having a physical or concrete existence. So my point is, as long as I say that this painting is abstract, I am safe from criticism with the details, hahahaha.

Well, with that said I'll just walk you through the process of how I did it.


Paint Paint Paint, Water Color is Life

I love water color, it is the first coloring tool I asked my mom to buy for me when I was a kid. But love itself isn't enough to get better with it, instead, I grew better using other mediums as I grow older. I don't know why, but I just waltz off from water color into another medium(markers).

Its not like I already loved something completely else, I just find markers easier than water colors

First thing I did is brush the canvas(water color paper) with water. This will make me spread the water color easier along the canvass.

Then I took some red and white to mix them together to form pink. I don't have pink so I just had to mix them to have one. Just mix them and try the mixture in a scratch paper to see if the mixture is already in the right hue. Here, I wanted to have that pale pink to contrast with the blue color that I am planning to use.

There is the blue, it looks like clouds here, I applied the blue color over the pink while its wet. As you brush the paint along the wet canvas, you will see the wonderful movements of colors as they interact with each other.
I added more less water dilluted paint and applied it as if I was making some clouds.
I spread the strong color to lessen it's hue.
Flattened it out a little more at this part.

And did spread it here some more.
I did applied some black color here to show some some silhouette of lands. I just wanted to give an expression of an island sight with some random pink and blue colors to show as clouds.
I find that the black paint I'm using isn't strong enough so I decided to pull out my oil pastel for it's black color.
There, I achieved the right blackness that I want. Thanks to the black oil pastel.
I broadened the black part here more. What I really wanted here is a painting that has really relaxing colors with some vague image of something. You see, somehow, the lack of details and the abstract thing is intended. I want the viewers to play at it in their minds when they see it.
I applied some white to the black control some of it's colors which came out really good here.
I then added more pink and blue to the different parts just to add more of that color control.

And there you have it, my vague painting of a silhouette of an island with really relaxing colors.

Ending this post

I think I'll hang it somewhere with a lot of busy people so it can help them to relax a bit when they see this painting. Did you enjoyed this post? If you do, why not upvote? Thank you for dropping by and see you again.

Sort:  

It looks like a lake surrounded by mountains. Good work. Thanks for sharing. :)

Aaaaaaaaa. Soft colors😍 cooooll! 😱😍

The Artist Hines painting "Inevitable Beauty" and discussing his philosophy and approach to Abstract Painting.

nice howto, come see my blog @art21 , I am an artist painter as well, Greetings!

Great work, I am planning to get started on some watercolors soon myself so I appreciate learning about your process.

Aaaaaaaaa. Soft colors😍 cooooll! 😱😍

Wow! What a nice peaceful painting, @rottenchain333

ohh I love the colors! very nice :) keep this up

So cool and

Keep up the good work! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66021.84
ETH 2981.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70