You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An answer to a question by Bo

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Col. Bruce Hampton is a musician who has influenced so many great Southern musicians. Wise and insightful cat, who stressed, take your art seriously, but don't take yourself seriously.

Billy Bob is also a musician and asked Bruce to be in Sling Blade, Bruce (Morris in the clip) wrote his character's speech.

PS Come on guys, we're talking about what in your mind, do labels matter ;-) Just sayin'

Sort:  

It might not have much to do with art really, not directly anyway, but analytic philosophy is one of my other passions, and if you can get the concepts right (or labels) it is of course preferable. Honestly can't see why that should be a problem... just sayin'

Not a problem at all ;-) Point well taken about properly identifying concepts. In this particular case, since I posed the initial question, that frames the way I view it. Thus, for me it was simply an interest in knowing if you are able to create what is in your mind -- regardless if it is a thought, an idea, or a mental image.

I wasn't thinking so much in terms of being prepared to work, and seeing what happens. Rather, that inexplicable situation in which artists are channeling. In the clip below, fully composed and arranged symphonies come into this 12 year old boy's mind, and he writes them in a couple of hours.

Sorry, if my previous comment came across harsh, I meant it playfully.

I did not see it as harsh at all. I just wrote a fast reply as I was busy - might have seem equally harsh :) - The fine art red necks are hilarious.

The guy asking is new on Diaspora and the only thing I know about him is that he is a Dane that came to the US to study psychology and according to his tags he is now interested in deep learning and other computer stuff. Therefore this is not really about the original question you asked, but more about using it as a case for looking at it from another angle.

To me his questions was not that difficult because I know the process well. The jumping between thought and sensory. But underneath it is some very interesting and hard to grasp reality that has interested me a lot. I do not go into it here - I just keep on the surface where I actually know what happens.

I think that the boy is probably the same type of person as Mozart. The future will tell us if he will become a great musician or composer, which is not necessarily what will happen. Prodigy children are special cases that already has what other needs a lifetime accomplishing. They are not natural born super-artists, but they tend to work so much that many of them will be. Some of the artists I admire most are not talented at all, but they still gets to a place where they make great art.

Look here for example: https://steemit.com/comic/@katharsisdrill/phill-from-gchq-and-it-s-inspirations-freak-brothers

Cool, that's a relief I didn't offend you. That clip of the 12 year old is fairly old, I'll have to check out what has become of him -- though I must admit I'm not into modern classical music.

In real life, the redneck Morris in the clip was Jimmy Herring's mentor :-) He was an artist who just happened to be a musician if you know what I mean.

Oh man I loved the Freak Brothers -- I never registered who wrote them, I'm going to have to check out Gilbert Shelton and find out more about him. We used so laugh so hard we cried reading those CBs :-D

I am not completely unoffendable, but in things like this you would have to come up with something much better to make me just slightly grumpy :)

I agree very much with the statement about artists not taking themselves seriously, I try not to and that is why I love people like Shelton!

Yesterday I watched an interview with Gilbert Shelton on Youtube, and also saw a really great clip of a film someone wanted to produce of the F. Freak Bros. :-)

I am not sure they ever got to make that film - it was before crowdfunding really had taken off. Both Shelton and Crumb are great in interviews: Robert Crumb, Gilbert Shelton and the Oz Trial

Saw that one, but didn't find the time yet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83