Meditation and Doodling - A Worthy Process

in #art7 years ago

Reflections on Chaos and Creativity

Lately, the feels are out of control. It makes me irrational one minute and then the next, I am hella motivated. After a cycle of this, manic and depressed, ups and downs, eventually there is this next cycle and it is all I can do to get out of bed.

There are few staples, or rather, points of stabilization right now and so I generally don't sleep and it's just me and my pen after 2 or 3 in the morning. I used to write poetry but even that is hit and miss. I have always been insecure about my art though and so I didn't bother to do that until relatively recently... It has been a thing for the last year or so.

I figure, while it lasts, I might as well enjoy it.

Here are some first draft drawings I have done lately.

The Bedroom

This one, the bedroom scene, it took me about 45 minutes to draw. I don't know who's bedroom or where it is. It just sort of came out while I was drawing.

I often draw in a trancelike state. I don't usually know what it is that I am making until it is close to formed and then my conscious brain will take over and add the details.

The Trifecta

This is completely unedited, a face and then another. I like to think there is one more and this is the creepy Njorn or something. I am not sure yet. I haven't been motivated to draw any more on this one either. So, maybe we will never know?

I think that in this one, there are some interesting shapes and it seems like either ideas or something is coming up and out through their heads. I am not sure what they are but I have been obsessed with drawing things bursting from the head as of late.

Spiritually, I have had quite a number of dreams and esoteric kinds of thoughts as of late. This is an image of a drawing that I drew a while ago. I actually ended up doing too much on top of it, so this is the only copy that I have of it. I wanted to include it in the sketches because this is the last copy. It is also one of my more favored pieces. I really liked it.

Meme in Progress


79eda1f8-ca94-4fda-8785-a9408765026c.png

So zen, so calm... yet still flipping you off. I don't know, this one entertains me. I have been working on making it into a meme. I have been working on a lot of things as of late as it is and it doesn't seem to be letting up.

I need to let this schedule go and just go with the flow. I am working on this. It's not as easy as it looks.

received_10211979570077091.jpeg

It is a Process

More than just sketching, I am able to allow myself to drift off while I am doodling most of these images. The ability to get out of my own head is needed, as most of us know. Sometimes there is peace in a simple line. Sometimes the best art comes from the mind that thinks about it the least. You never know what you are capable of once you let go of reservations. I find that now, I can even draw half-decent intentional drawings, when I have something that I want to draw out.

I find that I end up drawing out things going on in my life. Even when I don't intend, i can find some representation of what is going on in my dream time or in the mundane and find a corrolation in the art that I have been creating. It's an interesting process, that is for sure.

Sort:  

i feel yhur art is nice and unique. Keep it up and keep getting better

I don't usually know what it is that I am making until it is close to formed and then my conscious brain will take over and add the details.

that part was funny to me

Ha Thank you :) It is true. It's just how the process goes!

nice work

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be resteemed. Good Luck!

Oh cool :) Thanks! That is really rad! I am happy that you liked it. Share on! I don't mind! In fact, I appreciate it big time! So much so, I even made it rhyme!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75